The UEFA technical team

Team of the Tournament





The official website for European football

UEFA technical observers

UEFA technical observers
The UEFA Technical Study Group (left to right): Dušan Fitzel, Dany Ryser, Patricia González and Graham Turner ©Sportsfile

UEFA technical observers

The selection of a squad of 18 players who, in the opinion of the UEFA technical observers, made a genuine impact on the final tournament is always a task which requires more than a modicum of reflection and debate.

The event in Croatia was no exception and, as usual, a lot of high-level performances went unrewarded – often because the team as a whole did not go the distance in the tournament.

Jack Aitchison, for example, was on the list of candidates during the group stage and the attacker might have appeared on the list had Scotland progressed further.

Central midfielders Achraf El Bouchataoui (Netherlands) and Kerem Kesgin (Turkey) narrowly missed out, along with players from the wide areas such as Gül Recep (Turkey), Krisztofer Szeretö (Hungary), Yacine Adli (France) and Sergio Gómez (Spain), and the Germany goalkeeper Luca Plogmann, who conceded only two goals in five matches. This, however, was the squad finally selected.