Final tournament - Group stage

Group A(Host country: England)

1Italy Italy32015236
2England England32014316
3Switzerland Switzerland32014226
4Israel Israel300317-60


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Last updated: 29/08/2018 18:35 CET


4 May 2018
Referee: Zbynek Proske (CZE) Stadium: St. George's Park Stadium, Burton-on-Trent (ENG)
08/29/2018 17:36:06
Referee: Halil Umut Meler (TUR) Stadium: Chesterfield FC Stadium, Chesterfield (ENG)
08/10/2018 10:59:18
7 May 2018
Referee: Juri Frischer (EST) Stadium: St. George's Park Stadium, Burton-on-Trent (ENG)
06/07/2018 09:27:17
Referee: Vilhjalmur Thorarinsson (ISL) Stadium: Walsall FC Stadium, Walsall (ENG)
06/07/2018 09:19:41
10 May 2018
Referee: Horatiu Fesnic (ROU) Stadium: Rotherham United Stadium, Rotherham (ENG)
06/07/2018 09:19:34
Referee: Tihomir Pejin (CRO) Stadium: St. George's Park Stadium, Burton-on-Trent (ENG)
06/07/2018 09:27:06
Last updated: 29/08/2018 18:36 CET


Qualifying round

Elite round

Final tournament

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament. The format changed for 2014/15 with the expansion of the final tournament from eight to 16 teams.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four countries playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each pool progress alongside the four third-placed sides with the best record against the leading pair in their groups.

Elite round
In the elite round, held in early spring, those 30 qualifiers plus the top two seeds – given a bye this far – compete in eight mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners and seven runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section advance to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
In the final tournament the contenders are split into four groups of four, with the front two from each proceeding to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.