2019 #U17EURO finals: Republic of Ireland

The Republic of Ireland will host the 2019 Under-17 EURO finals from 3 to 19 May.

Under-17 trophy (Ireland branding)

The Republic of Ireland will host the 2019 Under-17 EURO finals from 3 to 19 May. The tournament will also act as Europe's qualifier for the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Brazil later in the year.

  • Ireland previously hosted the 1994 U16 EURO and 2015 UEFA Regions' Cup while Dublin was the venue for the 2011 UEFA Europa League final and will stage four UEFA EURO 2020 matches.
  • 15 teams will qualify to join Ireland in the finals after March's elite round.
  • The finals draw is on 4 April in Dublin.


Dublin (Tallaght Stadium, Tolka Park, UCD Bowl, Whitehall Stadium)
Longford (Strokestown Road)
Waterford (Regional Sports Centre)
Wicklow (Carlisle Grounds)


Will go on sale from www.fai.ie
Prices: Adults from €5, Children under 16 free

Colin O’Brien & Barry The Bodhran (Republic of Ireland)
Finals mascot Barry The Bodhran with Ireland U17 manager Colin O'Brien©Sportsfile

Ambassador: John O'Shea

The tournament ambassador is former Republic of Ireland defender John O'Shea, who won 118 caps between 2001 and 2018, playing at UEFA EURO 2012 and 2016, having helped his nation win the 1998 U16 EURO. He played most of his club career for Manchester United, winning five Premier League titles, the FA Cup, two League Cups and the 2008 UEFA Champions League and FIFA Club World Cup. He has spent this season with Reading.


Elite round groups
Group 1 (20–26 March)
: Italy, Austria, Romania, Turkey*

Group 2 (20–26 March): Netherlands* (holders), Czech Republic, Israel, Northern Ireland

Group 3 (21–27 March): England, Denmark*, Croatia, Switzerland

Group 4 (20–26 March): Germany*, Slovenia, Iceland, Belarus

Group 5 (25–31 March)**: Spain, Ukraine, Kosovo, Greece

Group 6 (20–26 March): Portugal, Russia, Poland, Scotland*

Group 7 (26 March–1 April): Belgium, Hungary*, Norway, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Group 8 (26 March–1 April): Slovakia, France, Sweden, Serbia*

**Played in Nyon, Switzerland

• The eight group winners and the seven runners-up with the best records against the teams first and third in their section will join hosts the Republic of Ireland in the finals.

Qualifying round groups
Group 1

Qualified: Netherlands (holders), Sweden

Group 2
Ukraine, Iceland, Bosnia and Herzegovina*

Group 3
Austria, Slovenia

Group 4
Spain, Israel

Group 5
Kosovo, Scotland, Switzerland*

Group 6
Denmark, Russia

Group 7
France, Poland

Group 8
Czech Republic, Norway

Group 9
Hungary, Romania, Serbia*

Group 10
Slovakia, Northern Ireland, Turkey*

Group 11
Portugal, Belarus

Group 12
Belgium, Greece

Group 13
Italy, Croatia

*best third-placed team

Bye to elite round: England, Germany

Bye to final tournament: Republic of Ireland (hosts)