Tallinn triumph continues Spain's U19 dominance

It took Spain 80 minutes to break down Greece in the UEFA European Under-19 Championship final but their victory in Estonia was a sixth in just 11 editions of the competition.

Spain celebrate with the trophy
Spain celebrate with the trophy ©Sportsfile

Spain have long been the team to beat at the UEFA European Under-19 Championship, their defeat of Greece securing their sixth title in 11 seasons.

The Iberian side have dominated since the competition switched from being an U18 event in 2002; La Rojita won only one of the 17 editions of the European U18 Championship but have been without peer in the new competition. Fernando Torres scored the only goal of the first final as Germany were defeated in Oslo and 1-0 was also the scoreline in Spain's next triumph, against Turkey in 2004.

Italy triumphed in 2003 and France added to their four U18 titles two years later before Spain regained the initiative, defeating Scotland in the 2006 showpiece and Greece a year later to become the first team to retain the trophy. Germany got their name on the cup in 2008 and 12 months later Ukraine became the first host nation to take the spoils when overcoming England in front of a record crowd of 25,100 in Donetsk.

In 2010 France also triumphed on home soil, overcoming Spain, but La Rojita were back the following year to finally see off the Czech Republic in a thrilling final in Bucharest. The 2012 competition would end in similar fashion as Greece succumbed by the same scoreline as in 2007 to become only the second team to lose two finals after England, runners-up in 2005 and 2009.

UEFA European Under-19 Championship finals
2012 Spain 1-0 Greece (Tallinn, Estonia)
2011 Czech Republic 2-3 Spain, aet (Bucharest, Romania)
2010 France 2-1 Spain (Caen, France)
2009 England 0-2 Ukraine (Donetsk, Ukraine)
2008 Germany 3-1 Italy (Jablonec Nad Nisou, Czech Republic)
2007 Spain 1-0 Greece (Linz, Austria)
2006 Scotland 1-2 Spain (Poznan, Poland)
2005 England 1-3 France (Belfast, Northern Ireland)
2004 Turkey 0-1 Spain (Nyon, Switzerland)
2003 Italy 2-0 Portugal (Vaduz, Liechtenstein)
2002 Spain 1-0 Germany (Oslo, Norway)