adidas Golden Boot

The UEFA European Under-21 Championship adidas Golden Boot award was awarded to Saúl Ñíguez with Marco Asensio taking silver and Bruma winning bronze.

Players have a possible five matches – three group stage games, a semi-final and a final – to find the net more times than their peers and take home the prize previously won by such luminaries as Adrián López, Marcus Berg, Klaas-Jan Huntelaar, Alberto Gilardino, Andrea Pirlo and Álvaro Morata.

With eight of the last nine awards going to strikers, defences will have to be at their sharpest to shut out Europe's hottest new talent. One thing is certain: whoever heads the chart will do well to beat Berg's record of seven goals set in Sweden in 2009.

NB: While goals scored will always be the first criterion in deciding the leading marksman, further criteria will be used to separate players with the same goal tallies – firstly, assists, then minutes played (with the player boasting the better goals-to-minutes-on-the-pitch ratio taking precedence).