Футбол возвращается: УЕФА готовится к безопасному возобновлению своих топ-соревнований.

Подробнее >

2000: Пирло пирует в Братиславе

Хавбек сборной Италии Андреа Пирло
Хавбек сборной Италии Андреа Пирло ©Getty Images

Чехия - Италия 1:2
(Дошек 51; Пирло 42 81)
"Тегельне Поле", Братислава

Молодежная сборная Италии выиграла первенство Европы-2000, в финале одолев Чехию со счетом 2:1. У итальянцев дублем отметился Андреа Пирло, чей путь наверх начался как раз в Братиславе.

Первое место
В стартовом матче "скуадры адзурры" 21-летний Пирло реализовал пенальти и принес своей команде победу над Англией - 2:0. В игре со Словакией центральный хавбек получил красную карточку, а итальянцы добились лишь ничьей - 1:1. В заключительной встрече группы В Италия уверенно взяла верх над Турцией со счетом 3:1 и вышла в финал. Второе место в квартете заняла Словакия, которая обошла Англию, хотя та разгромила Турцию со счетом 6:0.

Путь в финал
Как и Италия, Чехия дошла до финала без поражений. Чехи вполне могли выиграть все три групповых поединка, если бы гол Альберта Луке на последней минуте не отнял у них победу в стартовой встрече с Испанией. Взять три очка в битве с Нидерландами чехам позволил дубль Давида Яролима. Последний матч чехов в группе порадовал зрителей обилием голов. Хозяева турнира добились впечатляющей победы над Хорватией со счетом 4:3, а один мяч провел Милан Барош. Второе место заняла Испания, которая затем в матче за третье место одолела Словакию с минимальным результатом.

ЗОЛОТОЙ ИГРОК: АНДРЕА ПИРЛО

Решающий поединок
День финала наверняка запомнился Пирло на всю жизнь. В составе сборной Италии вышли такие игроки, как Дженнаро Гаттузо, Кристиан Аббьяти, Кристиано Дзанетти, Франческо Коко и Роберто Баронио. Встреча проходила в равной и зрелищной борьбе, однако на 42-й минуте удача улыбнулась итальянцам: Пирло нанес точный удар с пенальти. Вскоре после перерыва Томаш Дошек восстановил равновесие, чем привел в восторг 12 тысяч зрителей. Но за девять минут до конца Пирло мастерски реализовал штрафной, назначенный в 25 метров от ворот. Вскоре такие удары стали для Пирло фирменным знаком.

Наверх

UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2000 Under-21 EURO: Pirlo makes Italy's day

Andrea Pirlo scored both goals as Italy beat Czech Republic in the final to win their fourth Under-21 EURO title.

Watch brilliant Pirlo free-kick from 2000 U21 final
Watch brilliant Pirlo free-kick from 2000 U21 final

Czech Republic 1-2 Italy
(Došek 51; Pirlo 42 81)
Tehelné Pole, Bratislava

Andrea Pirlo announced himself as one to watch for the future with a pair of goals as Italy claimed their fourth UEFA European Under-21 Championship title in five years with a 2-1 victory against the Czech Republic in Bratislava.

Slovakia through
It was an eventful tournament for the 21-year-old 'fantasista', who scored a penalty in the Azzurrini's 2-0 opening victory against England before being sent off in a 1-1 draw with hosts Slovakia two days later.

Best goals from the 2000 U21s featuring Pirlo and Van Bommel
Best goals from the 2000 U21s featuring Pirlo and Van Bommel

Italy could afford to be without Pirlo against Turkey in their final Group B match, a 3-1 victory taking them through to the final on goal difference. Slovakia had to settle for the runners-up spot which they claimed at the expense of England. England had thrashed Turkey 6-0 (Frank Lampard and Ledley King among the scorers) but the goals ran dry against the hosts, whose 2-0 victory prolonged their involvement.

Spain third
Like Italy, the Czech Republic advanced to the final undefeated, and were unlucky not to win all three of their matches; only Albert Luque's last-minute strike denied them victory against Spain in Group A's opening game. The Czechs, however, would not be disappointed for long. David Jarolím scored twice as the Netherlands were defeated in Trencin then Milan Baroš was among the goals as the Czechs won a 4-3 thriller against Croatia to top the group. Spain defeated the Netherlands in their final game, but an earlier draw against Croatia meant they had to settle for second spot and a play-off for third place against Slovakia, which they duly won 1-0.

GOLDEN PLAYER: ANDREA PIRLO


Pirlo shines

So to the final and Pirlo's big day. A strong Italy side included the likes of Gennaro Gattuso, Christian Abbiati, Cristiano Zanetti, Francesco Coco and Roberto Baronio and in an entertaining, evenly balanced match Pirlo opened the scoring from the penalty spot on 42 minutes. Tomáš Došek brought a roar from the crowd of 12,000, most of whom had come across the border from the Czech Republic to see the game, when he equalised shortly after half-time, but they would be silenced soon after, Pirlo earning the win with nine minutes to play with a brilliant curling free-kick from 25 metres. Pirlo would soon make that his trademark.