UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Spain rise in all-time Under-21 rankings

Spain's victory in Denmark made them the second most successful country in the competition's history, edging clear of England, USSR and the Netherlands and trailing only Italy.

Ander Herrera opened the scoring for Spain in the final
Ander Herrera opened the scoring for Spain in the final ©Getty Images

Spain's 2-0 victory against Switzerland not only made them UEFA European Under-21 Champions but also the second most successful nation in the competition's history.

After drawing their opening match against England, Luis Milla's side have been imperious in Denmark, winning four matches in succession and dominating possession in each – 2-0 v Czech Republic (66%), 3-0 v Ukraine (64%), 3-1 aet v Belarus (73%) and 2-0 v the Swiss (54%).

Those statistics enabled the Iberians to clinch a third crown at this level, following on from their triumphs in 1986 and 1998. Spain are two titles short of Italy, the kings of U21 football, on five wins. The Azzurrini added to a hat-trick of successes in 1992, 1994 and 1996 with victories in 2000 and 2004.

Trailing Spain on two wins are England, beaten finalists in 2009 but group stage casualties here, the USSR and the Netherlands. Switzerland's final defeat means they failed to join Germany, the Czech Republic, France and Yugoslavia as one-time winners.

Champions (hosts)
2011 Spain (Denmark)*
2009 Germany (Sweden)*
2007 Netherlands (Netherlands)*
2006 Netherlands (Portugal)*
2004 Italy (Germany)*
2002 Czech Republic (Switzerland)*
2000 Italy (Slovakia)
1998 Spain (Romania)
1996 Italy (Spain)
1994 Italy (France)
1992 Italy
1990 USSR
1988 France
1986 Spain
1984 England
1982 England
1980 USSR
1978 Yugoslavia

* Current format

Selected for you