UEFA.com works better on other browsers
As of 25 January, UEFA.com will no longer support Internet Explorer.
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Agenda set for Under-21 finals draw in Aalborg

The draw for the 2011 UEFA European Under-21 Championship will be made in the Danish city of Aalborg on 9 November, deciding the two four-team groups and match schedule.

Denmark, Czech Republic, Spain, Iceland, England, Switzerland, Belarus and Ukraine are involved
Denmark, Czech Republic, Spain, Iceland, England, Switzerland, Belarus and Ukraine are involved ©UEFA.com

The draw for the final round of the 2011 UEFA European Under-21 Championship will be held on Tuesday 9 November from 15.00CET at the Aalborg Congress and Culture Centre in Aalborg, Denmark.

It will decide the group lineups and match schedule for the final tournament taking place from Saturday 11 June to Saturday 25 June 2011 in the Danish host cities of Aarhus, Herning, Aalborg and Viborg.

The draw will be conducted by Gilberto Madaíl, chairman of the UEFA National Team Competitions Committee, together with UEFA competitions director Giorgio Marchetti. Former Danish international forward Flemming Povlsen – ambassador for the 2011 Under-21 finals – will also be on stage to assist with proceedings.

In accordance with the draw procedure, the eight finalist teams will be split into two groups of four. Denmark, as host association, will be seeded along with the Czech Republic, Spain and Iceland. England, runners-up in 2009, join Switzerland, Belarus and Ukraine as the four non-seeded teams. The seedings are based on the coefficient ranking list established on the basis of qualifying competition results.

The draw will be preceded directly by a media workshop at the same Aalborghallen location, running between 11.00 and 14.30. Here the local organising committee will provide the national media with detailed information about the final tournament.

The draw will be followed by interview opportunities with the coaches of the participating nations and players from the Denmark Under-21 team, as well as with representatives of UEFA and the Danish Football Association (DBU).

Media representatives wishing to attend the draw should apply to the DBU for accreditation: http://www.dbu.dk/akkreditering. The deadline for applications is Friday 5 November.

The media working area at the Aalborg Congress and Culture Centre, which is equipped with wireless internet access, will be open from 12.00 on Monday 8 November and will close at 18.00 on the day of the draw. Media requiring either ISDN or analogue lines should contact the national telecommunications company.

The draw will be screened by the Danish broadcaster TV 2 and will be shown live on UEFA.com.