UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Delaney makes Denmark cut, Kjær out

Thomas Delaney has been named in Denmark's 23-man squad for the Under-21 finals after the omission of Simon Kjær prompted a reshuffle which created a midfield opening.

Denmark will be without Simon Kjær in the finals
Denmark will be without Simon Kjær in the finals ©UEFA.com

FC København midfield player Thomas Delaney was the surprise inclusion in Denmark's 23-man squad for the UEFA European Under-21 Championship on home soil, although VfL Wolfsburg defender Simon Kjær misses the cut from the initial 40-strong selection.

"Simon Kjær couldn't be named due to Wolfsburg not releasing him so that meant we had to shuffle things around a bit," said coach Keld Bordinggaard. "This created a position in central midfield, where Thomas Delaney comes highly recommended from the U20s.

"Now the squad is named we can truly begin our final preparations. We've got some players from the U20s and three from the senior national team. This week we must get focused after an intense end to the season, and the programme provides the optimum opportunity for that."

The squad will come together on Sunday, a day before the tournament hosts tackle Turkey in a friendly and five days before their opening game against Switzerland. Belarus and Iceland also await in Group A.

Bordinggaard added: "Although it's unfortunate not to have Simon, our ambition has not changed. I still believe that the 23 players we've chosen form a strong squad who can push for the championship."

Denmark squad
Jonas Lössl (FC Midtjylland), Nicklas Højlund (Lyngby BK), Mikkel Andersen (Reading FC).

Defenders: Anders Randrup (Brøndby IF), Mads Fenger (Randers FC) Lasse Nielsen (Aalborg BK), Mathias Zanka Jørgensen (FC København), Andreas Bjelland (FC Nordsjælland), Jesper Juelsgaard (FC Midtjylland), Nicolai Boilesen (AFC Ajax), Daniel Wass (Brøndby IF).

Midfielders: Kasper Povlsen (AGF Århus), Mads Albæk (FC Midtjylland), Mike Jensen (Brøndby IF), Thomas Delaney (FC København), Christian Eriksen (AFC Ajax), Matti Lund Nielsen (FC Nordsjælland).

Forwards: Nicki Bille Nielsen (Villarreal CF), Nicolai Agger (Brøndby IF), Nicolai Jørgensen (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Bashkim Kadrii (Odense BK),Søren Frederiksen (SønderjyskE), Henrik Dalsgaard (Aalborg BK).