Kick out COVID-19 by following the World Health Organization and FIFA's five steps to help stop the disease’s spread.

1. Wash hands 2. Cough into bent elbow 3. Don't touch your face 4. Keep physical distance 5. Stay at home if unwell.
More info >

Germany denied by late Turkey strike

Germany 1-1 Turkey
Seemingly destined for victory thanks to Lasse Sobiech's 20th-minute goal, the hosts were denied by Nurettin Kayaoğlu in added time.

Nurettin Kayaoğlu (left) celebrates his late equaliser for Turkey
Nurettin Kayaoğlu (left) celebrates his late equaliser for Turkey ©Bongarts

Nearly 9,000 supporters watched Germany denied victory in their final game of the year, Nurettin Kayaoğlu earning Turkey a share of the spoils in added time.

Germany, who secured their place at next summer's UEFA European Under-21 Championship finals with a 4-2 aggregate win in a play-off against Switzerland, looked to have picked up another victory thanks to Lasse Sobiech's 20th-minute goal. However, Kayaoğlu ensured the visitors had the final say.

The match started in far better fashion for Germany, Tolgay Arslan finding space on the left before pulling back for Sobiech to slot in. Rainer Adrion's side took charge thereafter and could have doubled their lead through Moritz Leitner. The Borussia Dortmund youngster latched on to Kevin Volland's first-time attempt but his shot from the edge of the area was well saved by Ömer Kahveci.

Leitner continued to make his presence felt in the second half and was again close to doubling Germany's lead in the 57th minute, his shot from inside the box going narrowly off target. Turkey struggled to create chances of their own and were again fortunate to trail by only a solitary goal when substitute Patrick Herrmann threatened with a volley 15 minutes from time.

Turkey stepped their performance up a notch in the closing stages and came close to drawing level through substitute Hakan Calhanoglu on a number of occasions. It was Kayaoğlu, though, who made the breakthrough, firing the ball just under the bar from the left-hand side of the penalty area.

Baumann; Hornschuh, Rüdiger, Sobiech (Vogt 46), Plattenhardt (Ostrzolek 60); Moritz, Arslan (Bittencourt 60); Volland (Herrmann 70); Mlapa (Beister 46), Leitner; Polter

Related Items