Netherlands name experienced finals party

"We'll have to battle," said Netherlands coach Cor Pot as he named a finals squad containing 12 players with senior honours and one, Memphis Depay, in line for a U21s debut.

Memphis Depay in action for PSV
Memphis Depay in action for PSV ©Getty Images

PSV Eindhoven forward Memphis Depay received his first call-up as Cor Pot announced his 23-man Netherlands squad for this summer's UEFA European Under-21 Championship.

The 19-year-old Depay, already an U19 international, joins an experienced party containing 12 players boasting senior honours. Two others, Tonny Trindade de Vilhena and Jeroen Zoet, have also been involved with the full Oranje set-up.

PSV defender Jetro Willems, Hamburger SV counterpart Jeffrey Bruma and FC Groningen forward Genero Zeefuik, the Netherlands' top scorer in qualifying for Israel, are among the most notable names to miss the cut. Pot's side are aiming to secure a third U21 title for their country.

"That is the goal," said the coach. "Otherwise, we would not even bother travelling there. To say that we are expected to become European champions is overstating it a bit. We are certainly candidates, but nations like Spain, England, Italy and Germany also have strong squads. We certainly must not underestimate them. We will have to battle hard for it in Israel. The players will gain huge benefits from the tournament experience they will have."

Heracles Almelo midfielder Lerin Duarte has also been invited to the Netherlands training camp as a standby for any injury withdrawals. The Jong Oranje open their Group B campaign against Germany on 6 June.

Netherlands squad
Goalkeepers: Marco Bizot (FC Groningen), Nick Marsman (Go Ahead Eagles*), Jeroen Zoet (RKC Waalwijk**).

Defenders: Patrick van Aanholt (Vitesse***), Daley Blind (AFC Ajax), Mike van der Hoorn (FC Utrecht), Kelvin Leerdam (Feyenoord), Bruno Martins Indi (Feyenoord), Bram Nuytinck (RSC Anderlecht), Ricardo van Rhijn (AFC Ajax), Stefan de Vrij (Feyenoord).

Midfielders: Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Leroy Fer (FC Twente), Marco van Ginkel (Vitesse), Adam Maher (AZ Alkmaar), Kevin Strootman (PSV Eindhoven), Tonny Trindade de Vilhena (Feyenoord).

Forwards: Memphis Depay (PSV Eindhoven), Ola John (Benfica), Luuk de Jong (VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach), Florian Jozefzoon (RKC Waalwijk), Jürgen Locadia (PSV Eindhoven), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV Eindhoven).

*On loan from FC Twente
**On loan from PSV Eindhoven
***On loan from Chelsea FC


Related Items