Kick out COVID-19 by following the World Health Organization and FIFA's five steps to help stop the disease’s spread.

1. Wash hands 2. Cough into bent elbow 3. Don't touch your face 4. Keep physical distance 5. Stay at home if unwell.
More info >

Hungary and Slovenia to co-host 2021 Under-21 EURO

Hungary and Slovenia are assured of places at the 2021 U21 EURO after being confirmed as co-hosts.

Hungary and Slovenia to co-host 2021 Under 21 EURO
Hungary and Slovenia to co-host 2021 Under 21 EURO ©Sportsfile

Hungary and Slovenia have been confirmed as co-hosts of the 2021 UEFA European Under 21 Championship following the UEFA Executive Committee's meeting in Dublin.

The 2021 tournament will be the first with 16 teams, with the 2017 and 2019 editions involving 12. Prior to that, eight teams had participated in every finals since 2000.

The 2021 co-hosts are assured of a finals place, with the nine group winners and best runner-up also qualifying automatically. The other eight runners-up go into the play-offs, with the victors filling the last four tournament berths.

The 16 qualified teams will be drawn into four groups of four for the final tournament, with the four winners and four runners-up reaching the quarter-finals. There will be a standard knockout format from there.

2021 U21 EURO schedule

Qualifying draw: 11 December 2018

Watch every goal from the 2017 tournament
Watch every goal from the 2017 tournament

18–20 March 2019
3–11 June 2019
2–10 September 2019
7–15 October 2019
11–19 November 2019
23–31 March 2020
31 August–8 September 2020
5–13 October 2020

Play-offs: 9–17 November

Finals: June 2021

Hungary has previously hosted the 2014 UEFA European Under-19 Championship as well as the Women's U19 EURO in 2005. Meanwhile, Budapest will stage three UEFA EURO 2020 group stage games and a round of 16 fixture. The 2012 UEFA European Under-17 Championship was held in Slovenia. Both nations have hosted UEFA Futsal EURO – Hungary in 2010 and Slovenia in 2018.

Previous hosts

2019: Italy
2017: Poland
2015: Czech Republic
2013: Israel
2011: Denmark
2009: Sweden
2007: Netherlands
2006: Portugal
2004: Germany
2002: Switzerland
2000: Slovakia
1998: Romania
1996: Spain
1994: France