UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Morata setting the pace in Golden Boot race

Spain forward Álvaro Morata leads the adidas Golden Boot standings with three goals but there are a trio of players still in Israel sitting just one behind ahead of Saturday's semi-finals.

Spain forward Álvaro Morata leads the way with three group stage goals
Spain forward Álvaro Morata leads the way with three group stage goals ©Getty Images

With his opener against the Netherlands in Spain's final Group B game, Álvaro Morata took the outright lead in the adidas Golden Boot standings by moving on to three goals.

Morata opened his account by coming off the substitutes' bench to score the winner in Spain's first finals game against Russia. The Real Madrid CF forward repeated the trick on matchday two against Germany to seal La Rojita's semi-final berth and was on target 26 minutes into his first start in the 3-0 victory against the Netherlands.

Dutch duo Leroy Fer and Georginio Wijnaldum, Italy's Manolo Gabbiadini and Germany midfielder Sebastian Rudy have all scored twice and, with only the last of that number on his way home, Morata will have his slender lead put to the test in Saturday's semi-finals.

Top scorers
3 – Álvaro Morata (Spain)
2 – Leroy Fer (Netherlands)
2 – Manolo Gabbiadini (Italy)
2 – Georginio Wijnaldum (Netherlands)
2 – Sebastian Rudy (Germany)

Past winners
2011 – Adrián López, Spain (5)
2009 – Marcus Berg, Sweden (7)
2007 – Maceo Rigters, Netherlands (4)
2006 – Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (4)
2004 – Alberto Gilardino (4)
2002 – Massimo Maccarone (3)
2000 – Andrea Pirlo (3)

More information about the Golden Boot award can be found here.

2013 competition top scorers (including qualifying)
11– Rodrigo (Spain) 
9 – Jan Chramosta (Czech Republic)
8 – Manolo Gabbiadini (Italy), Peniel Mlapa (Germany), Jordan Rhodes (Scotland), Genero Zeefuik (Netherlands)
7 – Isco (Spain), Fedor Smolov (Russia)
6 – Álvaro Vázquez (Spain), Nemanja Bilbija (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Craig Dawson (England), Milan Djurić (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Lewis Holtby (Germany), Mikael Ishak (Sweden), Armando Sadiku (Albania)

*bold players still involved in the competition