Kick out COVID-19 by following the World Health Organization and FIFA's five steps to help stop the disease’s spread.

1. Wash hands 2. Cough into bent elbow 3. Don't touch your face 4. Keep physical distance 5. Stay at home if unwell.
More info >

WATCH: The longest ever shoot-out in UEFA competition

It is ten years to the day since the epic 32-penalty shoot-out between the Netherlands and England in the U21 EURO semi-finals. Watch how it all unfolded.

Watch epic England-Netherlands U21 penalty shootout in full
Watch epic England-Netherlands U21 penalty shootout in full

It almost never happened. England were within 60 seconds of booking a routine 1-0 win (well, as routine as you get in U21 EURO semi-finals) following Leroy Lita's goal before half-time. Yet in the 89th minute Ryan Donk headed across and Maceo Rigters converted to send the 2007 Heerenveen semi to extra time and, ultimately, a historic shoot-out.

1 0-1 Ashley Young scores
2 1-1 Ryan Babel scores
3 1-2 James Milner scores
4 1-2 Royston Drenthe misses (hits post)
5 1-3 Mark Noble scores
6 2-3 Tim Janssen scores
7 2-3 Justin Hoyte misses (saved)
8 3-3 Roy Beerens scores
9 3-4 Matt Derbyshire scores
10 4-4 Hedwiges Maduro scores

Sudden death ...

Boy Waterman celebrates
Boy Waterman celebrates©Getty Images

11 4-5 Anton Ferdinand scores
12 5-5 Daniël de Ridder scores
13 5-6 Scott Carson scores
14 6-6 Gianni Zuiverloon scores
15 6-7 Liam Rosenior scores
16 7-7 Maceo Rigters scores
17 7-7 Niger Reo-Coker misses (saved)
18 7-7 Arnold Kruiswijk misses (fires over)

19 7-8 Steven Taylor scores
20 8-8 Boy Waterman scores

With England down to ten men after injury to Nedum Onuoha, both teams went back to the start (it meant that the Netherlands' 11th-man, Ryan Donk, was spared the drama). England stuck with their order; the hosts opted to mix things up ...

Gianni Zuiverloon seals victory
Gianni Zuiverloon seals victory©Getty Images

21 8-9 Ashley Young scores
22 9-9 Roy Beerens scores
23 9-10 James Milner scores
24 10-10 Royston Drenthe scores
25 10-11 Mark Noble scores
26 11-11 Hedwiges Maduro scores
27 11-12 Justin Hoyte scores
28 12-12 Tim Janssen scores
29 12-12 Matt Derbyshire misses (saved)
30 12-12 Daniël de Ridder misses (saved)
31 12-12 Anton Ferdinand misses (hits bar)

32 13-12 Gianni Zuiverloon scores

The Netherlands win! The Jong Oranje beat Serbia three days later to retain their crown.