UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2023 Under-21 EURO: Meet the finalists – England vs Spain

England play Spain in Saturday's UEFA European Under-21 Championship showpiece at Batumi Arena, Georgia.

England face Spain in the U21 EURO final
England face Spain in the U21 EURO final UEFA

England take on Spain in the UEFA European Under-21 Championship final at Batumi Arena, Georgia, kicking off at 18:00 CET (20:00 local time).

We introduce the contenders as Spain look for a record sixth title and England hope to end a 39-year wait for their third.

Buy U21 EURO final tickets


Qualifying Group G winners: P10 W8 D1 L1 F26 A7
Finals Group C winners: W2-0 vs Czechia (Batumi), W2-0 vs Israel (Kutaisi), W2-0 vs Germany (Batumi)
Quarter-final: W1-0 vs Portugal (Kutaisi)
Semi-final: W3-0 vs Israel (Batumi)
Finals scorers: Cameron Archer 2, Anthony Gordon 2, Emile Smith Rowe 2, Harvey Elliott 1, Morgan Gibbs-White 1, Cole Palmer 1, Jacob Ramsey 1
U21 EURO best: Winners x 2 (1982, 1984)
U21 EURO final record: W2 L1

2009: L0-4 vs Germany
1984: W3-0agg vs Spain (W1-0a, W2-0h)
1982: W5-4agg vs West Germany (W3-1h, L2-3a)

England's road to the Under-21 EURO final

Did you know?

  • England have won every game and not conceded a single goal en route to the final – just like Spain at the 2013 tournament in Israel. La Rojita went on to beat Italy 4-2 in the decider.
  • A record-equalling seven different players have scored for England in these U21 finals – a mark they also matched when they last reached the final in 2009.
  • Both of England's previous titles came when this competition was officially known as 'European Championship for National Representative Teams of Talents Under-21' and squads were able to include a limited number of overage players (hence, in 1984, England featured Howard Gayle, 26, and Gary Bailey, 25).
Semi-final highlights: Israel 0-3 England
Where to watch U21 EURO final: TV/streams


Qualifying Group C winners: P8 W8 D0 L0 F37 A5
Finals Group B winners: W3-0 vs Romania (Bucharest), W1-0 vs Croatia (Bucharest), D2-2 vs Ukraine (Bucharest)
Quarter-final: W2-1aet vs Switzerland (Bucharest)
Semi-final: W5-1 vs Ukraine (Bucharest)
Finals scorers: Sergio Gómez 3, Abel Ruiz 3, Juan Miranda 2, Álex Baena 1, Antonio Blanco 1, Aimar Oroz 1, Oihan Sancet 1, own goal 1
U21 EURO best: Winners x 5 (1986, 1998, 2011, 2013, 2019)
U21 EURO final record: W5 L3

2019: W2-1 vs Germany
2017: L0-1 vs Germany
2013: W4-2 vs Italy
2011: W2-0 vs Switzerland
1998: W1-0 vs Greece
1996: L1-1aet, 2-4pens vs Italy
1986: W3-3agg, 3-0pens vs Italy (L1-2a, W2-1a)
1984: L0-3agg vs Yugoslavia (L0-1h, L0-2a)

Semi-final highlights: Spain 5-1 Ukraine

Did you know?

  • Spain have extended their record tally of final appearances to nine.
  • They hope to claim a new outright mark of six titles, one ahead of Italy.
  • Antonio Blanco, Sergio Gómez, Juan Miranda and Abel Ruiz, along with coach Santi Denia, are looking to complete a treble after winning the U17 EURO in 2017 and the U19 EURO in 2019.
Highlights: Spain 2-1 Switzerland (aet)

Previous finals meetings

2011 group stage: England 1-1 Spain
2009 group stage: England 2-0 Spain
1984 final: England 3-0agg Spain (Spain 0-1 England, England 2-0 Spain)

Previous U21 EURO finals

16-team final tournaments
2021: Germany 1-0 Portugal (hosts: Hungary and Slovenia)

12-team final tournaments
2019: Spain 2-1 Germany (Italy and San Marino)
2017: Germany 1-0 Spain (Poland)

Eight-team final tournaments (incl. group stage)
2015: Sweden 0-0, 4-3p Portugal (Czechia)
2013: Spain 4-2 Italy (Israel)
2011: Spain 2-0 Switzerland (Denmark)
2009: Germany 4-0 England (Sweden)
2007: Netherlands 4-1 Serbia (Netherlands)
2006: Netherlands 3-0 Ukraine (Portugal)
2004: Italy 4-0 Serbia and Montenegro (Germany)
2002: Czechia 0-0, 3-1p France (Switzerland)
2000: Italy 2-1 Czechia (Slovakia)

Eight-team final tournaments (knockout)
1998: Spain 1-0 Greece (Romania)

Four-team final tournaments (knockout)
1996: Italy 1-1, 4-2p Spain (Spain)
1994: Italy 1-0aet Portugal (France)

Two-legged final
1992: Italy 2-1agg Sweden
1990: Soviet Union 7-3agg Yugoslavia
1988: France 3-0agg Greece
1986: Spain 3-3agg, 3-0p Italy
1984: England 3-0agg Spain
1982: England 5-4agg West Germany
1980: Soviet Union 1-0agg East Germany
1978: Yugoslavia 5-4agg East Germany

UEFA European Under-23 Championship
1976: Soviet Union 3-2agg Hungary
1974: Hungary 6-3agg East Germany
1972: Czechoslovakia 5-3agg Soviet Union

Selected for you