Winners for the first time in 2009, Germany were denied the opportunity to defend their crown in Denmark but were unbeaten in qualifying this time – here are all their key facts.

Germany's players celebrate following their qualification against Switzerland
Germany's players celebrate following their qualification against Switzerland ©Getty Images


Final tournament record
2009: winners
2006: group stage
2004: group stage
1998: quarter-finals
1996: quarter-finals
1992: quarter-finals
1990: quarter-finals
1982: runners-up

All-time competitive record
P157 W95 D29 L33

2013 qualifying (including play-off)
P12 W10 D2 L0 F43 A11
Top scorers: Peniel Mlapa (8), Alexander Esswein, Lewis Holtby (5), Maximilian Beister, Sebastian Polter (4)
Ever presents: none

Germany U21s capped at senior level
Lewis Holtby (3)

Players with previous U21 final tournament experience

Most capped player
All-time: Fabian Ernst (31)
Current: Lewis Holtby (24)

Leading scorer
All-time: Pierre Littbarski (18)
Current: Lewis Holtby (14)

Biggest wins
Final tournament:
Germany 5-0 USSR 30/04/1982
1982 semi-finals, (Old) Tivoli, Aachen

San Marino 0-11 Germany 17/11/2009
2011 qualifying group stage, Stadio Olimpico, Serravalle

Heaviest defeats
Final tournament:

France 3-0 Germany 25/05/2006
2006 group stage, Estádio D. Afonso Henriques, Guimaraes

Iceland 4-1 Germany 11/08/2010
2011 qualifying group stage, Kaplakrikavöllur, Hafnarfjordur