Netherlands details the Under-21 history of the Netherlands, who return to the finals for the first time since 2007, the year they completed back-to-back triumphs in the competition.

©Getty Images


Final tournament record
2007: winners
2006: winners
2000: group stage
1992: quarter-finals
1988: semi-finals

All-time competitive record
P158 W88 D29 L41

2013 qualifying (including play-off)
P10 W8 D1 L1 F25 A3
Top scorer: Género Zeefuik (7)
Ever presents: Kelvin Leerdam

Netherlands U21s capped at senior level
Kevin Strootman (18 caps), Bruno Martins Indi (9), Luuk de Jong (7), Ricardo van Rhijn (6), Jordy Clasie (5), Stefan de Vrij (5), Adam Maher (4), Daley Blind (3), Georginio Wijnaldum (2), Leroy Fer (2), Marco van Ginkel (1), Ola John (1)

Players with previous U21 final tournament experience

Most capped player
All-time: Arnold Bruggink, Leroy Fer (31)
Current: Leroy Fer (31)

Leroy Fer has scored in both games so far
Leroy Fer has scored in both games so far©Getty Images

Leading scorer
All-time: Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (18)
Current: Georginio Wijnaldum (10)

Biggest wins
Final tournament:

Netherlands 5-1 Russia 09/06/2013
Group stage, Teddy Stadium, Jerusalem

San Marino 0-7 Netherlands 29/04/1997
1998 qualifying group stage, Stadio di Serravalle, Serravalle

Heaviest defeats
Final tournament:

Spain 3-0 Netherlands 12/06/2013
2013 group stage, Ha Moshava, Petah Tikva

Netherlands 0-3 Greece 26/05/1998
1998 semi-final, Steaua Stadium, Bucharest

England 3-0 Netherlands 27/04/1993
1994 qualifying group stage, Fratton Park, Portsmouth

Spain 4-1 Netherlands 04/06/1999
2000 qualifying group stage, Los Pajaritos, Soria

Portugal 3-0 Netherlands 27/03/2001
2002 qualifying group stage, Dr Machado De Matos, Felgueiras

Netherlands 0-3 Czech Republic 28/03/2003
2004 qualifying group stage, Sportcentrum Maaspoort, 's-Hertogenbosch