Germany confirm final 23-man party

"I am confident I have picked the right squad," said Germany coach Rainer Adrion after confirming his 23-man party for June's UEFA European U21 Championship.

Rainer Adrion has confirmed his final squad
Rainer Adrion has confirmed his final squad ©Getty Images

Germany have confirmed their final 23-man squad for the UEFA European Under-21 Championship in Israel following the injury-enforced withdrawals of Jan Kirchhoff, Tolgay Arslan and Sebastian Jung.

Midfielder Arslan, named in the initial 25-man party, was forced to withdraw a week ago because of a ligament injury in his left knee. Vice-captain Kirchhoff dropped out on Friday following groin surgery and was replaced by VfB Stuttgart's Antonio Rüdiger. Jung, meanwhile, does not make the trip because of a left hamstring problem.

Emre Can (FC Bayern München), Matthias Ginter (SC Freiburg) and Sead Kolasinac (FC Schalke 04) are all on their way to Israel despite not having featured in Germany's qualifying campaign.

"We want to win, match by match, at the EURO," said coach Rainer Adrion. "I am confident I have picked the right squad. We  have a great mix of experienced U21 players as well as emerging talents, Bundesliga regulars and youngsters with exciting potential."

Germany squad
Goalkeepers: Oliver Baumann (SC Freiburg), Bernd Leno (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Timo Horn (1. FC Köln).

Defenders: Tony Jantschke (VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach), Sead Kolasinac (FC Schalke 04), Matthias Ginter (SC Freiburg), Antonio Rüdiger (VfB Stuttgart), Oliver Sorg (SC Freiburg), Stefan Thesker (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Lasse Sobiech (SpVgg Greuther Fürth), Shkodran Mustafi (UC Sampdoria).

Midfielders: Christian Clemens (1. FC Köln), Patrick Funk (FC St Pauli), Patrick Herrmann (VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach), Lewis Holtby (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Christoph Moritz (FC Schalke 04), Sebastian Rode (Eintracht Frankfurt), Sebastian Rudy (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Emre Can (FC Bayern München).

Forwards: Pierre-Michel Lasogga (Hertha BSC Berlin), Peniel Mlapa (VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach), Sebastian Polter (1. FC Nürnberg), Kevin Volland (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim).