Experienced look to Jong Oranje

Uncapped Newcastle United FC goalkeeper Tim Krul lines up alongside six former winners in the final Netherlands' UEFA European U21 Championship squad.

Netherlands coach Foppe de Haan has announced his 23-man squad for the 2007 UEFA European Under-21 Championship, a tournament they will enter as hosts and holders.

One new face
The party features just one player never to have appeared for the Jong Oranje, Newcastle United FC goalkeeper Tim Krul, as well as six players who savoured European glory in Portugal last summer - Kenneth Vermeer, Arnold Kruiswijk, Ron Vlaar, Ismaïl Aissati, Haris Medunjanin and Daniël de Ridder. De Haan has omitted seven men from his provisional squad of 30, with the loss of AFC Ajax defender Urby Emanuelson because of fatigue the most high-profile of these.

Poland next
Agil Etemadi (SC Heerenveen), Milano Koenders (RKC Waalwijk), Dwight Tiendalli (Feyenoord), Kemy Agustien (Roda JC), Jeremain Lens (AZ Alkmaar) and Tim Vincken (Feyenoord) were the others to miss out, while Ibrahim Afellay, Stijn Schaars, Piet Velthuizen and Evander Sno are absent through injury. The Netherlands play their final warm-up game against Poland in Deventer on Friday, with Group A matches against Israel (10 June), Portugal (13 June) and Belgium (16 June) to follow.

Netherlands squad
Goalkeepers: Tim Krul (Newcastle United FC), Kenneth Vermeer (AFC Ajax), Boy Waterman (AZ Alkmaar).

Defenders: Ryan Donk (AZ Alkmaar), Royston Drenthe (Feyenoord), Calvin Jong-A-Pin (SC Heerenveen), Arnold Kruiswijk (FC Groningen), Erik Pieters (FC Utrecht), Frank van der Struijk (Willem II), Ron Vlaar (Feyenoord), Gianni Zuiverloon (SC Heerenveen).

Midfielders: Ismaïl Aissati (FC Twente), Otman Bakkal (FC Twente), Luigi Bruins (SC Excelsior), Hedwiges Maduro (AFC Ajax), Haris Medunjanin (Sparta Rotterdam), Robbert Schilder (Heracles Almelo).

Forwards: Ryan Babel (AFC Ajax), Roy Beerens (NEC Nijmegen), Tim Janssen (RKC Waalwijk), Julian Jenner (AZ Alkmaar), Daniel de Ridder (RC Celta de Vigo), Maceo Rigters (NAC Breda).