Zahlen & Fakten: Österreich - Deutschland

Deutschland wäre mit einem Unentschieden gegen Österreich für das Halbfinale qualifiziert.

Deutschland hat nach zwei Siegen die besten Chancen auf das Halbfinale
Deutschland hat nach zwei Siegen die besten Chancen auf das Halbfinale ©Getty Images

Deutschland hat bei der UEFA-U21-Europameisterschaft bisher überzeugende Leistungen abgeliefert und will nun die starke Serie gegen Österreich ausbauen.

• Der Titelverteidiger hat in der Gruppe B beide bisherigen Partien gewonnen. Nach dem 3:1 gegen Dänemark und dem 6:1 gegen Serbien hat die DFB-Auswahl ein Drei-Punkte-Polster an der Tabellenspitze. Österreich und Dänemark haben je drei Zähler.

• Deutschland braucht einen Punkt, um sicher die Gruppe zu gewinnen. Bei einer Niederlage, haben sie nur dann eine Chance auf den Gruppensieg, wenn Dänemark gleichzeitig Serbien schlägt; in dieser Situation würden die beiden ersten Plätze unter den ersten drei Mannschaften entschieden, wobei der direkte Vergleich zu Rate gezogen würde. Deutschland wäre in diesem Falle Gruppensieger, sollten sie nur mit einem Tor Unterschied verlieren.

• Österreich muss Deutschland schlagen, um eine Chance auf den Gruppensieg zu haben; sie würden sicher die Gruppe gewinnen, sollten sie siegen und Dänemark würde dies nicht schaffen. Sie wurden auch dann Grupenerster werden, wenn sie mit drei Toren Vorsprung gewinnen, egal, wie Dänemark dann spielt.

Highlights: Deutschland - Serbien 6:1
Highlights: Deutschland - Serbien 6:1

Bisherige Begegnungen
• Deutschland hat von den acht Pflichtspielen gegen Österreich sieben gewonnen (1 Unentschieden) und dabei 21 Treffer erzielt. In der Qualifikation zur EURO 2017 gab es zwei Siege (4:2 zuhause und 4:1 auswärts). Levin Öztunalı erzielte beim zweiten Spiel einen Treffer. Während Deutschland die Qualifikationsgruppe und später auch die Endrunde gewann, kam Österreich als Zweiter in die Playoffs und unterlag dort gegen Spanien.

• Deutschland hat die letzten sechs Aufeinandertreffen mit Österreich für sich entschieden. Letztmals ging Österreich bei einem 1:1 im April 1983 nicht als Verlierer vom Platz.

• Öztunalı markierte ein Tor und lieferte eine Vorarbeit beim 4:0 gegen Österreich im Halbfinale der U19-Europameisterschaft 2014. Bei der ÖFB-Truppe waren damals Sascha Horvath und Philipp Lienhart dabei.

• Horvath markierte Österreichs letzten Treffer beim 5:1 gegen Deutschland in der Qualifikation zur U19-EM im Oktober 2014. Marko Kvasina traf doppelt. Mit im Team waren Lienhart und Mathias Honsak. Auf der Gegenseite standen Timo Baumgartl und Nadiem Amiri, Mahmoud Dahoud saß 90 Minuten auf der Bank.

• Deutschland setzte sich in der Gruppenphase der U19-EURO 2016 mit 3:0 gegen Österreich durch.

• Dario Maresic und Christoph Baumgartner kassierten mit Österreich eine 0:4-Pleite gegen Deutschland (mit Arne Maier) in der Gruppenphase der U17-EURO 2016.

Blick zurück
Österreich
• Als einzige Mannschaft gibt Österreich 2019 bei einer U21-EURO ihr Debüt. 

• Außerdem hatten die Österreicher zuvor erst zwei Mal die Play-offs erreicht. 2009 scheiterten sie an Finnland nach Elfmeterschießen, während 2017 gegen Spanien aufgrund der Auswärtstorregel Schluss war.

• Österreich beendete die Qualifikationsgruppe 7 hinter Serbien auf dem zweiten Platz. Insgesamt holten sie 22 Punkte (7S, 1U, 2U). Sechs Pflichtspiele war man ungeschlagen (5S, 1U), ehe die Partie gegen Dänemark verloren wurde. In den Play-offs gab Österreich Griechenland durch zwei 1:0-Siege das Nachsehen. 

Deutschland
• Die DFB-Auswahl konnte 2017 den Titel holen. Es war der zweite Triumph nach 2009 in Schweden. Vor zwei Jahren kam man in Polen als bester Gruppenzweiter ins Halbfinale. Dort gewann Deutschland mit 4:3 im Elfmeterschießen gegen England und im Finale wurde Spanien durch ein Tor von Mitchell Weiser mit 1:0 bezwungen.

• Zum achten Mal hat sich Deutschland für eine Endrunde mit acht oder zwölf Mannschaften qualifiziert. Neben den beiden Titeln gab es 2015 ein Halbfinale und 1998 ein Viertelfinale. Außerdem kam man 1990, 1992 und 1996 unter die letzten Acht.

• Als Bundesrepublik Deutschland wurde man 1982 Zweiter hinter England.

Deutschlands Sieg am 1. Spieltag
Deutschlands Sieg am 1. Spieltag

• Deutschland qualifizierte sich als Sieger der Gruppe 5 für die Endrunde. In zehn Spielen sammelte die Mannschaft von Stefan Kuntz 25 Punkte (8S, 1U, 1N) und markierte 33 Tore. Kein für die Endrunde qualifiziertes Team war torgefährlicher. Deutschland gewann die letzten drei Qualifikationsspiele, nach dem Sieg gegen Dänemark im ersten Gruppenspiel sind die DFB-Junioren nun schon seit neun Pflichtspielen ungeschlagen (8S, 1U).

• Das 0:1 gegen Italien am dritten Spieltag der Endrunde 2017 ist Deutschlands einzige Niederlage in den letzten neun Endrunden-Spielen (6S, 2U).

• Vier Spieler des deutschen Kaders waren beim Titelgewinn 2017 mit dabei: Öztunalı, Waldemar Anton, Mahmoud Dahoud und Nadiem Amiri. Damals war Anton erst kurz vor dem Turnier für Jonathan Tah nachnominiert worden.

• Öztunalı gewann 2014 mit Deutschland die U19-EURO in Ungarn.

• Lukas Nmecha traf im Halbfinale und im Endspiel der U19-Europameisterschaft 2017 für England, entschied sich danach aber, für Deutschland aufzulaufen. Der in Hamburg geborene Stürmer bestritt sein deutsches U21-Debüt im März gegen England.

Höhepunkte vom ersten ÖFB-Auftritt
Höhepunkte vom ersten ÖFB-Auftritt

Sonstiges
• Haben in Deutschland gespielt:
Kevin Danso (Augsburg 2014-)
Marco Friedl (Bayern München 2008–18, Werder Bremen 2018–19 Leihe)
Christoph Baumgartner (Hoffenheim 2017-)
Mathias Honsak (Holstein Kiel 2018/19 Leihe)
Philipp Lienhart (Freiburg 2017-)
Stefan Posch (Hoffenheim 2016-)
Sascha Horvath (Dynamo Dresden 2017-)

• Hannes Wolf, der sich im ersten Spiel gegen Serbien das Bein brach, wird im Sommer von Salzburg nach Leipzig wechseln.

• Haben zusammen gespielt:
Philipp Lienhart & Robin Koch (Freiburg 2017-)
Philipp Lienhart & Luca Waldschmidt (Freiburg 2018-)
Christoph Baumgartner & Nadiem Amiri (Hoffenheim 2017-)
Stefan Posch & Nadiem Amiri (Hoffenheim 2016-)
Marco Friedl & Johannes Eggestein, Maximilian Eggestein (Werder Bremen 2018–19)
Kevin Danso & Marco Richter (Augsburg 2014-)

• Österreichs Trainer Werner Gregoritsch ist der Vater von Augsburgs Stürmer Michael Gregoritsch.

• Mit 61 Jahren ist Gregoritsch der älteste Trainer der Endrunde.

• Xaver Schlager kam in beiden Juni-Qualifikationsspielen der Österreicher zum Einsatz: beim 1:0 gegen Slowenien und beim 4:1 in Nordmazedonien. Posch feierte in Nordmazedonien in der zweiten Hälfte sein Debüt in der A-Nationalmannschaft.

• Tah und Lukas Klostermann standen beim 2:0-Sieg des deutschen A-Teams in Belarus im Rahmen der Qualifikation zur UEFA EURO 2020 am 8. Juni jeweils 90 Minuten auf dem Platz.

Oben

Austria v Germany facts

Germany have won both Group B games and need only avoid defeat against neighbours Austria to reach the semi-finals.

Germany celebrate their matchday two win
Germany celebrate their matchday two win ©Getty Images

Germany have dominated their UEFA European Under-21 Championship fixtures with Austria and will be looking to extend a long winning run against their neighbours.

• The holders have also been in impressive form in Group B, defeating Denmark (3-1) and Serbia (6-1, equalling their biggest winning margin in the final tournament) to open a three-point cushion in the standings. Austria are level with Denmark on three points, having lost to Denmark (3-1) after their first ever finals match ended in a 2-0 win against Serbia.

• Germany need a point to guarantee qualifying for the semi-finals as group winners. Should they lose, they only have a chance of finishing top if Denmark also beat Serbia; in this scenario, top spot would be decided on three-way head-to-head. Germany are assured of topping this should they lose by only a one-goal margin.

• Austria must beat Germany to have a chance of winning the group; they would be assured of top spot if they win and Denmark do not. They would also finish first if they win by a three-goal margin, regardless of the Danes' result.

Highlights: Germany 6-1 Serbia
Highlights: Germany 6-1 Serbia

Previous meetings
• Germany have scored 21 goals in winning seven and drawing one of the eight competitive fixtures between the sides, conceding only five. Germany won 4-2 at home and 4-1 away – Levin Öztunalı on target in the latter fixture – in qualifying for the 2017 finals. While Germany went on to win both their qualifying section and the tournament itself, Austria finished second in the group but lost to Spain in the play-offs.

• Those were the sides' first competitive games since 2006 qualifying, when Germany beat Austria 2-0 in Dusseldorf in October 2004 and 3-0 away 12 months later. Germany went on to reach the final tournament.

• Having also won 5-2 in a March 2007 friendly, Germany have triumphed in the last six matches between the sides. Austria have not avoided defeat against their neighbours since a 1-1 draw with West Germany in April 1983.

• Öztunalı scored one goal and set up another as Germany beat an Austria team featuring Sascha Horvath and Philipp Lienhart 4-0 in the 2014 European U19 Championship semi-final en route to winning the trophy.

• Horvath scored Austria's final goal in a 5-1 defeat of Germany in the U19 qualifying round in October 2014; Marko Kvasina got two goals for an Austria team also featuring Lienhart, plus substitute Mathias Honsak. Timo Baumgartl and Nadiem Amiri featured for Germany with Mahmoud Dahoud an unused substitute.

• Germany beat Austria 3-0 in the 2016 U19 EURO group stage; Florian Müller, Benjamin Henrichs and substitute Suat Serdar featured for Germany with Maximilian Mittelstädt an unused replacement. Xaver Schlager and Stefan Posch started for Austria with Sandi Lovric coming on as a substitute and Sandro Ingolitsch staying on the bench.

• Dario Maresic and Christoph Baumgartner were in the Austria side that lost 4-0 to a Germany side including Arne Maier in the 2016 U17 EURO group stage.

Form guide
Austria
• This is Austria's first U21 tournament – the only team to be making their debut at the 2019 finals.

• Austria had only previously reached the play-offs twice, losing to Finland on penalties in 2009 qualifying after each side had won 2-1 at home and going out to Spain on away goals in 2017 (1-1 home, 0-0 away).

• This time round Austria were runners-up behind Serbia in qualifying Group 7, picking up 22 points (W7 D1 L2). They were unbeaten in their last six games (W5 D1) and, before losing to Denmark, had won four successive competitive matches having beaten Greece 1-0 both away and home in the play-offs.

• Defeat by the Danes also ended Austria's nine-game unbeaten run – their longest competitive run without defeat since another nine-match sequence in 2007 and 2008 (W7 D2), which was ended by that 2-1 play-off loss in Finland.

Germany
• Germany were champions in 2017, their second U21 title following their 2009 success in Sweden. Two years ago in Poland, they finished second in Group C, qualifying for the semi-finals as the best runners-up over the three sections; they beat England 4-3 on penalties in the last four after a 2-2 draw before a Mitchell Weiser goal earned a 1-0 final win against Spain.

• This is the eighth time Germany have qualified for an eight or 12-team final tournament. Aside from their two titles, they were semi-finalists in 2015 and quarter-finalists in 1998. They also reached the last eight in 1990, 1992 and 1996.

• As West Germany, they were runners-up to England in 1982.

Watch Germany win on matchday one
Watch Germany win on matchday one

• Germany qualified for these finals as Group 5 winners, picking up 25 points from their ten fixtures (W8 D1 L1) and scoring 33 goals – the most of any of the 11 qualified teams, though non-qualifiers Portugal matched that figure. With wins in their last three qualifiers, Germany's victories against Denmark and Serbia have now extended their unbeaten run in competitive games to nine (W8 D1).

• A 1-0 loss against Italy on matchday three in 2017 is Germany's sole defeat in their last nine matches in the final tournament group stage (W6 D2).

• Four members of Germany's squad were in the victorious 2017 party; Öztunalı, Waldemar Anton, Dahoud and Amiri. Anton was a late replacement for Jonathan Tah.

• Öztunalı was also part of the victorious Germany side at the 2014 European U19 Championship in Hungary.

• Lukas Nmecha scored England's winner in both the semi-final and the final at the 2017 European U19 Championship; having switched his international allegiance, the Hamburg-born striker made his Germany U21 debut against England in March.

Watch Austria win on matchday one
Watch Austria win on matchday one

Links and trivia
• Have played in Germany:
Kevin Danso (Augsburg 2014-)
Marco Friedl (Bayern München 2008–18, Werder Bremen 2018–19 loan)
Christoph Baumgartner (Hoffenheim 2017-)
Mathias Honsak (Holstein Kiel 2018/19 loan)
Philipp Lienhart (Freiburg 2017-)
Stefan Posch (Hoffenheim 2016-)
Sascha Horvath (Dynamo Dresden 2017-)

• Hannes Wolf, who broke his right leg in Austria's opening game against Serbia, is set to join Leipzig from Salzburg this summer.

• Have played together:
Philipp Lienhart & Robin Koch (Freiburg 2017-)
Philipp Lienhart & Luca Waldschmidt (Freiburg 2018-)
Christoph Baumgartner & Nadiem Amiri (Hoffenheim 2017-)
Stefan Posch & Nadiem Amiri (Hoffenheim 2016-)
Marco Friedl & Johannes Eggestein, Maximilian Eggestein (Werder Bremen 2018–19)
Kevin Danso & Marco Richter (Augsburg 2014-)

• Austria coach Werner Gregoritsch is the father of Augsburg forward Michael Gregoritsch.

• At 61, Gregoritsch is the oldest coach at the final tournament.

• Xaver Schlager played from start to finish in both of Austria's June matches in UEFA EURO 2020 qualifying, victories against Slovenia (1-0 home) and North Macedonia (4-1 away). Stefan Posch made his senior international debut as a half-time substitute in the latter.

• Tah and Lukas Klostermann both played 90 minutes in Germany's 2-0 UEFA EURO 2020 qualifying win away to Belarus on 8 June.

Top