Clubs learn Women's Cup fate

The 45 UEFA Women's Cup entrants including holders Arsenal LFC and English rivals Everton LFC know their route to the final after the 2007/08 draw was made.

Quintet through
Holders Arsenal are one of five top seeds given a bye to the second qualifying round, meaning they, 2007 runners-up Umeå IK, the Swedish champions' fellow two-time winners 1. FFC Frankfurt plus last season's beaten semi-finalists Brøndby IF and Kolbotn IL will not come into the tournament until October. The other eleven places in that stage will be filled by the ten teams that win their first qualifying round groups from 9 to 13 August plus the best runners-up.

First stage
Among the record entry of 45 clubs are Everton, making their European debut as English runners-up behind Arsenal, and they will be in first qualifying round Group A1 to play against Lithuanian hosts Gintra Universitetas, Switzerland's FFC Zuchwil 05 and Glentoran Belfast United of Northern Ireland. A pair of former quarter-finalists are represented in the opening round; AC Sparta Praha up against mini-tournament hosts Maccabi Holon FC of Israel, Romania's CFF Clujana and AEK Kokkinochovion of Cyprus, while Valur Reykjavík meet Dutch champions ADO Den Haag, Finland's FC Honka and home side Klaksvíkar Ítróttarfelag of the Faroe Islands. Two nations are represented for the first time; Georgia's Dinamo Tbilisi have the tough task of topping Russian title-holders WFC Rossiyanka on their home territory while Maltese champions Birkirkara FC take on Spain's Athletic Club BFKEB and Italy's ASD CF Bardolino Verona in a group hosted by Slovenia's ŽNK KRKA Novo Mesto.

Knockout phase
The top two teams from each second qualifying round group progresses to the two-legged quarter-finals in November, with the route to the subsequent rounds in spring pre-ordained. If the groups go with seeding, Frankfurt would be rematched with the team that ended their grip on the trophy at the last-eight stage in 2006/07, Kolbotn. Meanwhile, if both Arsenal and Umeå win their groups, they would be on course for the same semi-final.

2007/08 UEFA Women's Cup first qualifying round: 9-13 August
Hosts in bold
Group A1Group A2
Everton LFC (ENG)Valur Reykjavík (ISL)
FFC Zuchwil 05 (SUI)ADO Den Haag (NED)
Gintra Universitetas (LTU)FC Honka (FIN)
Glentoran Belfast United (NIR)Klaksvíkar Ítróttarfelag (FRO)
Group A3Group A4
SV Neulengbach (AUT)FCL Rapide Wezemaal (BEL)
Uczniowski Klub Sportowy 'GOL' (POL)SU 1° Dezembro (POR)
Hibernian LFC (SCO)Cardiff City LFC (WAL)
Mayo FC (IRL)WFC Osijek (CRO)
Group A5Group A6
Athletic Club BFKEB (ESP)Olympique Lyonnais (FRA)
ASD CF Bardolino Verona (ITA)ŽNK SFK 2000 Sarajevo (BIH)
ŽNK KRKA Novo Mesto (SVN)FK Slova Duslo Sala (SVK)
Birkirkara FC (MLT)ZFK Skiponjat (MKD)
Group A7Group A8
WFC Rossiyanka (RUS)Universitet Vitebsk (BLR)
Zhilstroy-1 Kharkov (UKR)FC NSA Sofia (BUL)
ŽFK Napredak Krusevac (SRB)FC PAOK (GRE)
Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO)Pärnu FC (EST)
Group A9Group A10
Alma KTZH (KAZ)AC Sparta Praha (CZE)
1. FC Femina Budapest (HUN)Maccabi Holon FC (ISR)
FC Narta Chisinau (MDA)CFF Clujana (ROU)
Ruslan-93 (AZE)AEK Kokkinochovion (CYP)

2007/08 UEFA Women's Cup second qualifying round: 11-16 October
Hosts tbc
Group B1Group B2
Arsenal LFC (ENG, holders)Umeå IK (SWE)
Winners Group A5Winners Group A7
Winners Group A9Best runners-up
Winners Group A3Winners Group A8
Group B3Group B4
1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)Brøndby IF (DEN)
Winners Group A4Kolbotn IL (NOR)
Winners Group A2Winners Group A6
Winners Group A1Winners Group A10

2007/08 UEFA Women's Cup knockout rounds (first team named home in first leg)
Quarter-finals: 14/15 & 21/22 November
1: Runners-up Group B4 v Winners Group B1
2: Runners-up Group B3 v Winners Group B2
3: Runners-up Group B2 v Winners Group B3
4: Runners-up Group B1 v Winners Group B4
Semi-finals: 29/30 March & 5/6 April
1: Winners Quarter-final 1 v Winners Quarter-final 2
2: Winners Quarter-final 3 v Winners Quarter-final 4
Final: 17 & 24 May
Winners Semi-final 1 v Winners Semi-final 2