Women's contenders set for quarter-finals

Eight teams remain in contention to win the UEFA Women's Champions League in Getafe on 20 May and their campaigns resume on Wednesday with the first legs of the quarter-finals.

Women's contenders set for quarter-finals
©uefa.com 1998-2012. All rights reserved.

The UEFA Women's Champions League resumes on Wednesday with the prize of a final place in Getafe on 20 May coming into focus for the eight remaining contenders.

Fifty-three teams from 44 nations set out on the competition when it replaced the UEFA Women's Cup in August and four more will be eliminated after the quarter-finals are played between 10 and 17 March. The winners of the final UEFA Women's Cup, FCR 2001 Duisburg, are up against former champions Arsenal LFC, with the first leg in Germany on Wednesday and the return four days later in Bishop's Stortford, the only tie to conclude next weekend rather than the following midweek.

Should Duisburg prevail they could face the side that beat them to last season's German title, 2004/05 UEFA Women's Cup winners 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam, who are playing Norway's Røa IL. An all-French semi-final is also possible, should two-time European champions Umeå IK fall to Montpellier Hérault SC and Olympique Lyonnais prevail against Italy's ASD Torres Calcio. The semi-finals will be on the second and third weekend of April with the final two days before the men's UEFA Champions League final in Madrid. Arsenal and Lyon the only clubs who still have the chance to claim a unique men's and women's UEFA Champions League double.

2009/10 UEFA Women's Champions League draw
Quarter-finals: 10 & 17 March (*second leg 14 March)
1: FCR 2001 Duisburg (GER, holders) v Arsenal LFC (ENG)*
2: Umeå IK (SWE) v Montpellier Hérault SC (FRA)
3: Olympique Lyonnais (FRA) v ASD Torres Calcio (ITA)
4: 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER) v Røa IL (NOR)
Semi-finals: 10/11 & 17/18 April
1: Winners Quarter-final 3 v Winners Quarter-final 2
2: Winners Quarter-final 1 v Winners Quarter-final 4
Final: Coliseum Alfonso Pérez Stadium, Getafe; 20.30CET, 20 May
Winners Semi-final 1 v Winners Semi-final 2

Related Items