Return to Play: UEFA is preparing for the safe return of its elite competitions.

Learn more >

Wolfsburg, Tyresö win again, Brescia title

VfL Wolfsburg and Tyresö FF kept up their form in their penultimate games before the final while ACF Brescia clinched a first title and the English and French cup semis were played.

Selina Wagner (left) struck twice this weekend for Wolfsburg
Selina Wagner (left) struck twice this weekend for Wolfsburg ©Getty Images

VfL Wolfsburg and Tyresö FF kept up their winning form in their penultimate games before the UEFA Women's Champions League final while ACF Brescia clinched their first Serie A title.

Selina Wagner put Wolfsburg ahead late in the first half at SC Freiburg and later made it three on 73 minutes after Anna Blässe had struck just after the interval. Frieburg then pulled it back to 3-2 with a late surge but Wolfsburg held on. However, they remain four points behind both 1. FFC Frankfurt, who have played a match more, and 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam, who will visit Wolfsburg on Friday as the pair use up their game in hand.

Tyresö rested Marta and Verónica Boquete but still defeated KIF Örebro DFF thanks to goals from Caroline Seger, Lisa Sembrant and Madeleine Edlund. Göteborg FC are the hosts for Tyresö on Wednesday, giving the Swedish side two days' extra rest before facing Wolfsburg in Lisbon on 22 May.

Last week ACF Brescia and ASD Torres CF confirmed they would be the two Italian representatives in Europe next season – and on Sunday they met for the title. Torres, aiming for a fifth straight Serie A championship, needed victory at Brescia but in front of a sell-out crowd of more than 2,500 the home side went ahead on 76 minutes through Martina Rosucci.

Patrizia Panico levelled five minutes later, her 43rd goal of the league season leaving the 39-year-old as Serie A top scorer for the 13th time. However, Brescia made sure of their first title in added time when Elena Linari converted a penalty to make it 2-1.

In both England and France it was cup semi-final weekend. Arsenal LFC reached their 14th FA Women's Cup final, overtaking Doncaster Rovers Belles LFC's long-standing record, with a 5-3 extra-time defeat of Chelsea LFC, the Gunners only forcing the additional 30 minutes after Kelly Smith twice equalised. Arsenal have won 12 of their 13 finals but the only team to beat them, 2010 victors Everton LFC, will be their opponents on 1 June after a 2-1 triumph at Notts County LFC.

Olympique Lyonnais will take on Paris Saint-Germain FC in the French Women's Cup final on 7 June in Le Mans. Paris sailed to a 6-0 win at FCF Juvisy Essonne, Marie-Laure Delie scoring three, and Lyon, aiming for a third straight cup and a repeat of their 2008 success against the capital club, prevailed 3-0 at ASJ Soyaux-Charente. With three rounds to go in the league, Lyon lead Paris by five points with Juvisy one further back.