Return to Play: UEFA is preparing for the safe return of its elite competitions.

Learn more >

Ryazan and Linköping claim cups

Ryazan-VDV overcame WFC Kubanochka 5-0 to win the Russian Women's Cup for the first time in 16 years while Linköpings FC lifted their fourth Swedish Cup.

Ryazan celebrate with the cup
Ryazan celebrate with the cup ©RFS

Ryazan-VDV overcame WFC Kubanochka 5-0 in Moscow to claim the Russian Women's Cup for the first time in 16 years, while another UEFA Women's Champions League entrant Linköpings FC lifted the Swedish Cup.

Having won the Russian league twice and the cup once in the late 1990s and early 2000s – earning them a spot in the inaugural European season of 2001/02 – Ryazan then found themselves eclipsed. However, a team based around Russian and Ukrainian internationals was then built, landing the championship in October and now the knockout trophy.

WFC Zvezda-2005 Perm and WFC Rossiyanka, who between them had won the cup eight years running, were eliminated by Ryazan on their way to the final. Elena Terekhova, Lyudmyla Pekur and Olga Petrova put them in control in the decider and Elena Danilova struck twice to secure the player of the match award.

"It is nice, though unexpected," Danilova said. "It was not my best game because I wasted a lot of chances, especially in the first half. We prepared very seriously. Despite lengthy breaks between matches, we had almost no days off during this period. To be honest, we did not expect a result like this but after we scored twice it boosted our confidence and we knew we would not let the win slip."

Coach Konstantin Klimashin, whose side enter Europe in the round of 32 along with Zvezda – whom they trail by two points in the league this termadded: "We really wanted to bring the trophy to Ryazan. We managed to produce a good performance with many scoring chances. I think the win was deserved. Of course, the heavy rain influenced things but we were better in any event."

It was a bit tougher for Linköping, who captured the Swedish Cup for the fourth time in as many final appearances by defeating Kristianstads DFF 2-1. Marija Banušić put Kristianstad ahead on four minutes but Fridolina Rolfö swiftly equalised and Mariann Knudsen Gajhede sealed victory in the second half.

The trophy was picked up by Charlotte Rohlin, who also featured in Linköping's cup victories in 2006, 2008 and 2009. By contrast, new signings Cláudia Neto and Janni Narth made their Linköping debuts.