Lyon win, Hegerberg makes history: 2018 #UWCL at a glance

Lyon made it five titles and three in a row after an incredible extra-time comeback while Ada Hegerberg and Camille Abily also made history in Kyiv.

Ada Hegerberg (L) celebrates Lyon's third goal of the final
©Getty Images

Wolfsburg 1-4 aet Lyon

Top scorers
Ada Hegerberg (Lyon) 15 
Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg) 8  
Katrin Ásbjörnsdóttir (Stjarnan) 7    
Camille Abily (Lyon) 6    
Zenatha Coleman (Gintra Universitetas) 6        
Sara Björk Gunnarsdottir (Wolfsburg) 6        
Kader Hançar (Konak Belediyespor) 6        
Tamila Khimich (ZFK Minsk) 6 
(includes qualifying round)    

Highlights: Wolfsburg 1-4aet Lyon
Highlights: Wolfsburg 1-4aet Lyon


  • Lyon are the first five-time winners and the only side to have claimed the title three years in a row.
  • Sarah Bouhaddi, Wendie Renard, Camille Abily and Eugénie Le Sommer have set a new record of five final victories, all for Lyon.
  • Lyon reached their seventh final, one ahead of FFC Frankfurt's old record.
  • Renard and Bouhaddi also increased their personal records by appearing in their seventh finals for Lyon.
  • Ada Hegerberg broke the old record of 14 goals in a season, previously set by Célia Šašić of Frankfurt in 2014/15, Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir of Valur Reykjavík in 2008/09 and Conny Pohlers of Turbine Potsdam in 2004/05.
  • Camille Abily overtook Emma Byrne's old record of 77 competition appearances in the quarter-finals and retires with her mark on 81.
  • Abily set a new record of goals in this competition for single club by reaching 43 with Lyon, two ahead of former team-mate Lotta Schelin.
  • Anja Mittag became the first player to register 50 goals in this competition, in the round of 32 for Rosengård against Olimpia Cluj.
  • England became only the fourth nation to boast two semi-finalists, Chelsea and Manchester City, after France, Germany and Sweden.
  • Prague became the first city to have two teams in the round of 16: Slavia and Sparta.
  • KÍ Klaksvík kept up their unique record of entering all 17 seasons; however they will not return in 2018/19 as EBS/Skála won the Faroese title last year.
  • Overall a record 61 teams entered the competition

2019 final: Budapest
2020 final: Vienna

Roll of honour
UEFA Women's Champions League

2017/18: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-4 aet Lyon (FRA): Kyiv
2016/17: Lyon (FRA) 0-0 aet, 7-6 pens Paris Saint-Germain (FRA): Cardiff
2015/16: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-1 aet, 3-4 pens Lyon (FRA): Reggio Emilia
2014/15: FFC Frankfurt (GER) 2-1 Paris Saint-Germain (FRA): Berlin
2013/14: Tyresö (SWE) 3-4 Wolfsburg (GER): Lisbon
2012/13: Wolfsburg (GER) 1-0 Lyon (FRA): London
2011/12: Lyon (FRA) 2-0 FFC Frankfurt (GER): Munich
2010/11: Lyon (FRA) 2-0 Turbine Potsdam (GER): London
2009/10: Lyon (FRA) 0-0 aet, 6-7 pens Turbine Potsdam (GER): Getafe
UEFA Women's Cup

2008/09: Zvezda-2005 (RUS) 1-7 agg Duisburg (GER)
2007/08: Umeå (SWE) 3-4 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2006/07: Umeå (SWE)  0-1 agg Arsenal (ENG)
2005/06: Turbine Potsdam (GER) 2-7 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2004/05: Djurgården (SWE) 1-5 agg Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2003/04: Umeå (SWE) 8-0 agg FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2002/03: Umeå (SWE) 7-1 agg Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)
2001/02: Umeå (SWE) 0-2 FFC Frankfurt (GER): Frankfurt

  • Most wins

By club 
Lyon (FRA) 5
FFC Frankfurt (GER) 4
Turbine Potsdam (GER)/Umeå (SWE)/Wolfsburg (GER) 2
Arsenal (ENG)/Duisburg (GER) 1

By country
Germany 9
Sweden 2
England 1

  • Most final appearances

By club
Lyon (FRA) 7
FFC Frankfurt (GER) 6
Umeå (SWE) 5
Turbine Potsdam (GER) 4
Wolfsburg (GER) 4
Paris Saint-Germain (FRA) 2
Arsenal (ENG)/Djurgården (SWE)/Duisburg (GER)/Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)/Tyresö (SWE)/Zvezda-2005 (RUS) 1

By country
Germany 15
France 9
Sweden 7
Denmark, England, Russia 1

(2006 final counts as two German appearances, 2017 counts as two French appearances)