Hopefuls learn cup fate

The inaugural winners 1. FFC Frankfurt were missing as the draw took place for the first two rounds of the 2004/05 UEFA Women's Cup.

Formidable force
The first round, held from 20-24 July, consists of nine groups, each with four teams in. The winner of each group will progress to join the seeded teams in four second-round groups also consisting of four teams each on 13-19 September. In turn, the top two clubs from the second round groups will qualify for the quarter-finals in October and November.

Frankfurt missing
The big news is that 1. FFC Frankfurt, winners of the competition in 2002, losing semi-finalists in 2003 and runners-up this year, were not even in the hat, having been beaten to the German title by 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam, whose reward is to be placed in second qualifying round Group B3 alongside Italian champions FC Foroni Verona.

Other seeds
As well as Verona and Potsdam, other clubs to be seeded into round two are reigning champions Umeå IK, fellow Swedes Djurgårdens/Älvsjö, Arsenal LFC from England, SK Trondheims-Ørn of Norway and Denmark's Brøndby IF.

2003/04 UEFA Women's Cup draw
First qualifying round Group A1
SK Slavia Praha (CZE)
FK MŠK Žiar nad Hronom (SVK)
FC LP Super Sport Sofia (BUL)

First qualifying round Group A2
FC Energy Voronezh (RUS)
Gömrükçü Baku (AZE)
FC Scionjat (MKD)
Gintra-Universitetas (LIT)

First qualifying round Group A3
FC Bobruichanka (BLR)
WH Consulting Viktória FC Szombathe (HUN)
FC Codru Anenii Noi (MOL) 
Pärnu Football Club (EST)

First qualifying round Group A4
Ter Leede (NED)
Malmin Palloseura (FIN)
FR Reykjavik (ISL)
ŽNK Krka Novo Mesto (SLO)

First qualifying round Group A5
ZFK Mašinac-Classic Niš (SCG)
Hibernian LFC (SCO)
KFC Rapide Wezemaal (BEL)
ŽNK Maksimir (CRO)

First qualifying round Group A6
Metallist Kharkov (UKR)
AZS Wroclaw (POL)
KÍ Klaksvík (FAR)
Cardiff City LFC (WAL)

First qualifying round Group A7
Athletic Club (ESP)
CFF Clujana (ROM) 
Newtownabbey Strikers WFC (NIR)
Maccabi Holon FC (ISR)

First qualifying round Group A8
Frauen FC Zuchwil (SUI)
A.E. Aegina (GRE) 
SFK 2000 Sarajevo (BHZ) 
Ledra (CYP)

First qualifying round Group A9
Montpellier HSC (FRA)
S. União 1° Dez. 3 (POR)
UCD Women's Football Club (IRL)
SV Neulengbach (AUT)

Second qualifying round Group B1
Umeå IK (SWE)
Winner Group A5
Winner Group A4
Winner Group A3 

Second qualifying round Group B2
Djurgårdens/Älvsjö (SWE)
Arsenal Ladies FC (ENG)
Winner Group A8
Winner Group A7

Second qualifying round Group B3
I. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)
FC Foroni Verona (ITA)
Winner Group A9
Winner Group A6

Second qualifying round Group B4
SK Trondheims-Ørn (NOR)
Brøndby IF (DEN)
Winner Group A1 
Winner Group A2

Teams in bold will host the mini-tournaments