Frankfurt extend German dominance

Germany have now collected nine of the 14 UEFA women's club titles after 1. FFC Frankfurt secured their record fourth crown with victory against Paris Saint-Germain.

Frankfurt celebrate their dramatic winner against Paris
Frankfurt celebrate their dramatic winner against Paris ©Getty Images

Germany have now won nine of the 14 UEFA women's European club titles after 1. FFC Frankfurt secured a record fourth crown with a 2-1 victory against Paris Saint-Germain.

Frauen-Bundesliga teams never looked back after Frankfurt triumphed against Umeå IK in the first edition of the UEFA Women's Cup in 2002. Frankfurt went on to two further successes, in 2006 and 2008 (against Umeå again), their mark of three victories already a record. That tally is now four.

Also from Germany, 1. FFC Potsdam conquered Europe in 2005 and 2010, and VfL Wolfsburg prevailed in 2013 and 2014. FCR 2001 Duisburg are the other German side to have lifted the trophy, winning in 2009. Thanks to the victory by Frankfurt, and their third-place league finish this seasin, Germany will have three teams in the 2015/16 edition, as the holders are joined by runners-up Wolfsburg and champions FC Bayern München, the only Frauen Bundesliga entrants not to win on their debut European campaign, losing in the 2009/10 round of 16.

UEFA Women's Cup/UEFA Women's Champions League finals
(Winners in bold)
Season Club Final score Club
2014/15 1. FFC Frankfurt (GER) 2-1 Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)
2013/14 Tyresö FF (SWE) 3-4 VfL Wolfsburg (GER)
2012/13 VfL Wolfsburg (GER) 1-0 Olympique Lyonnais (FRA)
2011/12 Olympique Lyonnais (FRA) 2-0 1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2010/11 Olympique Lyonnais (FRA) 2-0 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2009/10 Olympique Lyonnais (FRA) 0-0 aet (6-7 pens) 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2008/09 Zvezda-2005 (RUS) 1-7 (agg) FCR 2001 Duisburg (GER)
2007/08 Umeå IK (SWE) 3-4 (agg) 1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2006/07 Umeå IK (SWE) 0-1 (agg) Arsenal LFC (ENG)
2005/06 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER) 2-7 (agg) 1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2004/05 Djurgårdens IF DFF (SWE) 1-5 (agg) 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2003/04 Umeå IK (SWE) 8-0 (agg) 1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2002/03 Umeå IK (SWE) 7-1 (agg) Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)
2001/02 Umeå IK (SWE) 0-2 1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)

Most successful clubs
Country Wins Finals
1, FFC Frankfurt (GER) 4 6
Umeå IK (SWE) 2 5
1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER) 2 4
Olympique Lyonnais (FRA) 2 4
VfL Wolfsburg (GER) 2 2
Arsenal LFC (ENG) 1 1
Djurgårdens IF DFF (SWE)/Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)
Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)/Tyresö FF (SWE)/Zvezda-2005 (RUS)
0 1

Most successful countries
Country Wins Finals
Germany 9 13
Sweden 2 7
France 2 5
England 1 1
Denmark 0 1
Russia 0 1