Le site officiel du football européen

Direction Cardiff

Direction Cardiff
Griedge M'Bock Bathy (Lyon) et Jill Scott (Manchester City) ©AFP/Getty Images

Direction Cardiff

Des 36 équipes au départ de la compétition, en août 2016, 11 sont sorties invaincues en phase qualificative. Mais seuls les neuf vainqueurs de groupes ont acquis le droit de disputer la phase à élimination directe, en octobre. Les groupes qualificatifs ont offert 256 buts, soit une très bonne moyenne de 4,74 buts par match. Mais la moyenne globale semblait masquer un contraste pourtant frappant : là où le Groupe 2 a accouché de 46 buts, le Groupe 6 n'en a vu que 15. Les statistiques semblaient illustrer des trajectoires de progression différentes. Un tiers des équipes plafonnait à une moyenne de plus de 20 tirs au but par match (Breidablik (Islande) et Medyk Konin (Pologne) allant même jusqu'à 28). De l'autre côté de l'échelle, quatre équipes ne comptaient même pas un dixième de cette moyenne.

Trois des équipes de la phase qualificative sont parvenues à passer le premier tour de la phase à élimination directe. Il faut toutefois noter que, parmi les équipes tombées en 16es de finale, le SFK 2000 Sarajevo, champion de Bosnie, s'est fait sortir par les Russes de Rossiyanka, 2-1 sur l'ensemble des deux matches, tandis que le Medyk Konin a été éliminé au terme d'une confrontation d'autant plus serrée (au nombre de buts inscrits à l'extérieur). À domicile, les Polonaises étaient menées 3-1 par Brescia. Elles ont fini par gagner 4-3 (le but vainqueur ayant été inscrit sur un corner direct), avant de s'incliner 3-2, au retour, en Italie.

©Getty Images

BIIK face à Vérone en 16es de finale

Cependant, deux des trois clubs qualifiés avait le malheur de tomber sur les futurs finalistes en 8es de finale tandis que le FC Twente de Tommy Stroot était à nouveau éliminé par le FC Barcelona, bourreau du club néerlandais la saison précédente. Même si le Paris Saint-Germain sortait le BIIK-Kazygurt sur une marge confortable en 8es, il avait rencontré plus de difficultés face au LSK Kvinner de Monica Knuden au tour précédent, l'équipe de Patrice Lair ayant recours à une victoire 4-1 dans la capitale française pour effacer un revers 3-1 en Norvège à l'aller.

Le bilan des 16es de finale faisait état de 16 victoires pour les équipes à domicile et dix pour les visiteurs, avec seulement six matches nuls. Le nombre moyen de buts par match descendait à 3,44, reflétant ainsi le niveau de plus en plus resserré de la compétition. La force d'attraction croissante de l'UEFA Women's Champions League était soulignée par une affluence de 9 127 spectateurs à San Mamés, à Bilbao, venus voir l'Athletic Club battre le Fortuna Hjørring 2-1 en 16es de finale aller.

Cependant, la différence entre l'élite et les clubs aspirant à la rejoindre était reflétée par des 8es de finale lors desquels six des huit confrontations se jouaient sur des marges cumulées de cinq buts ou plus, l'Olympique Lyonnais battant des records avec un triomphe 17-0 sur le FC Zürich Frauen lors duquel dix joueuses trouvaient le chemin des filets, soulignant ainsi la force de l'effectif de Gérard Prêcheur. Dans les confrontations plus serrées, le Fortuna l'emportait à Hjorring et à Brescia pour éliminer l'un des quarts de finalistes de la campagne précédente, tandis que le Manchester City WFC de Nick Cushing écrivait l'histoire du club grâce à un succès 2-1 sur les deux matches face au Brøndby IF synonyme de qualification pour les quarts de finale. Le 1-1 au Danemark était le seul match nul d'un tour ayant offert huit victoires à domicile et sept succès pour les visiteurs.

©Getty Images

Barcelone a pris le meilleur sur Rosengård

En quarts de finale, huit rencontres d'une intensité extraordinaire ne livraient que 13 buts. Xavi Llorens optait pour un schéma en 1-3-4-3 lors de la confrontation de Barcelone face au 1-4-4-2 de Rosengård, posant les fondations d'un jeu de passes permettant à l'équipe espagnole de dicter le rythme. L'équipe de Jack Majgaard, freinée par une finition hasardeuse (aucune des dix tentatives suédoises à Barcelone n'était cadrée), ne parvenait pas à transpercer une défense bien organisée basée sur un travail de transition rapide de défenseures latérales.

Le FC Bayern München avait le malheur d'affronter le Paris Saint-Germain alors que des joueuses clés étaient à l'infirmerie. Mais alors que le club français gâchait des occasions à Munich, un ballon aérien gagné par Nicole Rolser suivi de deux passes transversales permettait à la joueuse du Bayern Vivianne Miedema de marquer le seul but du match. Au retour à Paris, le 1-5-3-2 défensif des troupes de Thomas Wörle s'inclinait sur trois coups francs et une perte de balle dans les trente derniers mètres, les hôtes l'emportant 4-1 sur l'ensemble des deux matches.

Un coup franc était également à l'origine des déboires des autres représentants de l'Allemagne. Camille Abily trouvait directement les filets de Wolfsburg pour donner l'avantage à l'Olympique Lyonnais, une belle combinaison offrant un succès 2-0 aux championnes de France à l'aller. Wolfsburg se battait bien à Lyon et l'emportait sur un penalty en fin de match, insuffisant pour espérer la qualification. Une fois n'est pas coutume, les quarts de finale signifiaient la fin du parcours pour les clubs allemands.

©Getty Images

Carli Lloyd a aidé à sortir le Fortuna

Dans l'autre quart de finale, Manchester City s'octroyait la possession et le contrôle du match aller à Hjorring mais ne trompait la défense du Fortuna qu'une seule fois, lorsque la nouvelle recrue Carli Lloyd reprenait victorieusement un centre de la gauche. La donne était semblable au retour, un corner offrant à City sa seule récompense malgré une domination d'ensemble. Le dernier coup de poker de Brian Sørensen consistait à former une ligne arrière de trois joueuses, mais sa tentative ne portait pas ses fruits face à un pressing haut et aux impressionnantes qualités athlétiques du club anglais.

Même si une contre-attaque rapide offrait l'égalisation après un penalty en début de match, City était à la peine face au pressing haut et au jeu de possession de l'Olympique Lyonnais, qui évoluait en 1-3-5-2 face au 1-4-4-2 des Mancuniennes. Une belle combinaison et une contre-attaque rapide après un ballon aérien gagné offraient deux nouveaux buts pour les visiteuses. Mais même si City ne pouvait tenter sa chance que six fois lors du retour à Lyon, les troupes de Gérard Prêcheur ne parvenaient pas à offrir un but aux fans lyonnais et subissait une seconde défaite 1-0 consécutive sans conséquence grâce à leur efficacité à l'extérieur.

©Getty Images

Le Parc des Princes sonnait la fin du parcours de Barcelone

Barcelone, premier club espagnol à atteindre les demi-finales, connaissait un sort semblable face au Paris Saint-Germain dans un Mini Estadi bondé. Llorens calquait la formation en 1-3-5-2 de Paris mais les hôtes ne parvenaient pas à faire jeu égal avec les visiteuses en termes de puissance, d'anticipation et de possession dans l'entrejeu et, plus particulièrement, sur les ailes. Trois centres initiaient une victoire impressionnante. Mené 3-0 en début de seconde période, Barcelone passait à un jeu offensif plus direct et plus agressif pour la fin du match et sauvait l'honneur sur un but synonyme d'espoir avant le retour à Paris.

Même si les Espagnoles pressaient avec détermination et s'efforçaient de contrecarrer la mainmise de Paris sur l'entrejeu, leurs ambitions étaient douchées par un penalty et un coup franc excentré frappé par Eve Perisset, contré par une défenseure du Barça dans son propre but. La victoire 5-1 sur les deux matches qualifiait aisément l'équipe de Lair pour Cardiff et une rencontre face à son ancien club dans la première finale d'une compétition UEFA disputée entre deux clubs français.

https://fr.uefa.com/womenschampionsleague/season=2017/technical-report/road-to-the-final/index.html#direction+cardiff

The official website for European football

The road to Cardiff

The road to Cardiff
©AFP/Getty Images

The road to Cardiff

Of the 36 teams who took their places on the starting blocks when the ball started rolling in August 2016, 11 sprinted through the qualifying round unbeaten. But only the nine winners of the groups of four earned the right to appear on stage when the curtain rose on the knockout rounds in October. The qualifying groups had yielded a healthy total of 256 goals at an average of 4.74 per match. But the overall average blurred a picture of contrasting colours. Group 2 produced 46 goals, for example; Group 6 only 15. Different stations on learning curves were signposted by statistics. One-third of the contestants averaged in excess of 20 goal attempts per match – Breidablik (Iceland) and Medyk Konin (Poland) as many as 28 – whereas, at the other end of the scale, four teams fell below one tenth of that average.

Three of the successful contestants in the qualifying round went on to surmount the first hurdle of the knockout stage too, although it should be added that, among the last-32 fallers, Bosnian champions SFK 2000 Sarajevo were edged out on a 2-1 aggregate by Rossiyanka of Russia, while Medyk Konin succumbed by an even narrower margin (the away goals rule) after fighting back from 3-1 down at home to Brescia to win 4-3 (the decider scored direct from a corner), only to be defeated 3-2 in Italy.

©Getty Images

BIIK take on Verona in the round of 32

However, two of the three successful clubs had the misfortune to be drawn against the eventual finalists in the following round of 16 while Tommy Stroot's FC Twente were again eliminated by FC Barcelona – the Dutch side's nemesis the previous season. Although Paris Saint-Germain dispatched BIIK-Kazygurt by a comfortable margin in the last 16, they had been made to sweat by Monica Knuden's LSK Kvinner the round before, Patrice Lair's team needing a 4-1 victory in the French capital to overturn a 3-1 first-leg loss in Norway.

The overall balance of the round of 32 was 16 wins for home teams and ten by visitors, with only six games drawn. The average number of goals per match was whittled down to 3.44, reflecting the increasingly competitive complexion of the action. At the same time, the increasing pulling-power of the UEFA Women's Champions League was highlighted by an attendance of 9,127 at San Mamés in Bilbao to watch Athletic Club beat Fortuna Hjørring 2-1 in the first leg of their last-32 tie.

However, the difference between the elite and the clubs aspiring to join them was sharply defined by a round of 16 where six of the eight ties were decided by aggregate margins of five goals or more – with Olympique Lyonnais ruthlessly setting benchmarks with a 17-0 demolition of FC Zürich Frauen in which, to underline the strength of Gérard Prêcheur's squad, ten players got on the scoresheet. In the most closely-fought ties, Fortuna won in both Hjorring and Brescia to eliminate one of the previous campaign's quarter-finalists, while Nick Cushing's Manchester City WFC made club history with a 2-1 aggregate triumph over Brøndby IF to earn a place among the last eight. Their 1-1 scoreline in Denmark was the only draw in a round that otherwise yielded eight home wins and seven victories for visitors.

©Getty Images

Barcelona got the better of Rosengård

The quarter-finals rumbled with the sound of heavy metal. Eight games of extraordinary intensity produced just 13 goals. Xavi Llorens opted for a 1-3-4-3 structure in Barcelona's tie against Rosengård's 1-4-4-2, laying foundations for composed combination play that allowed the Spanish side to dictate the tempo. Jack Majgaard's team, hampered by wayward finishing (none of the Swedes' ten attempts in Barcelona found the target), failed to breach a well-organised defence based on rapid transition work by the wing-backs.

FC Bayern München had the misfortune to take on Paris Saint-Germain while key players were on their injury list. Yet while the French outfit missed chances in Munich, a high ball-win by Nicole Rolser followed by two crossfield passes enabled Bayern's Vivianne Miedema to score the only goal of the game. During the Paris return leg, the obdurate 1-5-3-2 defending by Thomas Wörle's charges was unstitched by three free-kicks and a ball loss in the defensive third, the hosts prevailing 4-1 overall.

A free-kick also initiated the demise of Germany's other representatives. Camille Abily struck directly into the Wolfsburg net to put Olympique Lyonnais ahead, with intricate combination play earning a well-worked second and a 2-0 first-leg advantage for the champions of France. To their credit, Wolfsburg fought valiantly in Lyon, where a late penalty was enough to salvage a victory but not the tie. Unusually, the quarter-finals signified the end of the road for the German clubs.

©Getty Images

Carli Lloyd helped see off Fortuna

In the other quarter-final, Manchester City enjoyed possession and control in their away leg in Hjorring but pierced the Fortuna defence only once, when new recruit Carli Lloyd converted a cross from the left. The return was a similar story, with a corner yielding City's sole reward for overall domination. Brian Sørensen's last throw of the dice was to switch to a back line of three – but the ploy failed to pay dividends against the high pressing and impressive athletic qualities of the English side.

Although a slick counterattack yielded an equaliser after an early penalty, City struggled against the high pressing and composed possession play of Olympique Lyonnais, who operated in a 1-3-5-2 structure against the Mancunians' 1-4-4-2. A neat combination move and a swift counter-punch after a high ball-win resulted in two more goals for the visitors. But, although they restricted City to half-a-dozen goal attempts during the return leg in Lyon, Gérard Prêcheur's troops once again failed to offer the home fans a goal and suffered a second successive 1-0 defeat which, thanks to their impressive away form, inflicted minimal damage.

©Getty Images

Parc des Princes was the end of the road for Barcelona

Barcelona, the first Spanish club to reach the semi-finals, endured a similar fate against Paris Saint-Germain when they entertained them at a packed Mini Estadi. Llorens mirrored Paris's 1-3-5-2 formation but the home team struggled to match the visitors for power, anticipation and composed possession play through midfield and, more especially, the wide areas. Three crosses paved the way for an impressive victory. Unfazed by falling 3-0 behind early in the second half, Barcelona switched to a more direct, aggressive attacking mode for the final phase of the game and bagged a consolation goal that permitted the flames of hope to keep flickering as they headed for the return in Paris.

Although they pressed with determination and strove valiantly to break Paris's stranglehold on midfield, their ambitions were dashed by a penalty and by a wide free-kick delivered by Eve Perisset, deflected by a Barça defender into her own net. The 5-1 aggregate scoreline took Lair's side comfortably along the last leg of the road to Cardiff and a contest against his old team in the first final of any UEFA competition to be disputed by two clubs from France.

https://www.uefa.com/womenschampionsleague/season=2017/technical-report/road-to-the-final/index.html#the+road+cardiff