UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Bonde names party for EURO

Denmark coach Peter Bonde has named an experienced squad for this summer's UEFA WOMEN'S EURO 2005™.

By Peter Bruun

Denmark coach Peter Bonde has announced an experienced squad for UEFA WOMEN'S EURO 2005™ this summer.

Experience the key
Players accustomed to success dominate the selection, which includes only one potential debutante, Denmark Under-19 goalkeeper Stina Lykke Pedersen from Odense BK. Other emerging youngsters, such as Camilla Sand Andersen from Fortuna Hjørring, Vejle BK's Eva Vester and Christina Ørntoft from Skovlunde IF, all of whom played in Denmark's spring friendlies, were overlooked.

'Good balance'
"The squad represents a good balance between youth and experience," said Bonde at a press conference on Tuesday when the 20-woman squad was unveiled. "At a major tournament it is also important to have players who can play in several positions, and I have therefore tried to name those who are flexible and can play various roles."

Canada friendly
Since taking over as coach from Poul Højmose in March, Bonde has had the benefit of only three friendlies from which to make his pick. The team plays a final friendly against Canada in Brondby on 25 May before departing for the finals in England where they will meet the hosts, Finland and Sweden in the group stage.

Denmark squad

Tine Cederkvist (Brøndby IF)
Mette Bjerg (Horsens SIK)
Stina Lykke Petersen (Odense BK)

Dorte Dalum Jensen (Asker Skiklub)
Bettina Falk (Brøndby IF)
Gitte Andersen (Brøndby IF)
Katrine S. Pedersen (Fløya)
Mariann Gajhede Knudsen (Fortuna Hjørring)
Mia Olsen (Brøndby IF)

Anne Dot Eggers (Brøndby IF)
Cathrine Paaske Sørensen (Brøndby IF)
Cecilie V. Pedersen (Brøndby IF)
Helle Nielsen (Vejle BK)
Louise Hansen (1. FFC Frankfurt)
Nanna Johansen (IK Skovbakken)

Johanna Maria Rasmussen (Fortuna Hjørring)
Lene R. Jensen (IK Skovbakken)
Merete Pedersen (Torres Calcio Feminile)
Stine Kjær Jensen (Brøndby IF)
Tanja Mejer Christensen (Fortuna Hjørring)