One year to go to Women's EURO 2017

The UEFA Women's EURO finals in the Netherlands kick off on 16 July 2017 with seven of the expanded field of 16 decided and seven venues being readied for matches.

Seven venues will share the 31 matches next summer
Seven venues will share the 31 matches next summer ©KNVB

There is exactly one year to go until UEFA Women's EURO 2017 kicks off in the Netherlands as the competition's first 16-team final tournament draws ever nearer.

Expanded from the 12 that participated in Sweden three years ago, the finals will be played in seven venues across the Netherlands from 16 July to 6 August next year. has a full guide to the largest women's national-team football event UEFA has ever organised.

Qualified: Netherlands (hosts), Germany (holders), England, France, Norway, Spain, Switzerland
Confirmed at least play-off: Iceland, Scotland, Sweden, Denmark, Russia, Belgium, Austria
Can still qualify: Finland, Portugal, Ukraine, Romania, Italy, Czech Republic, Northern Ireland

• The last qualifying group stage games run from 15–20 September.
• The eight group winners and six best runners-up (not counting results against fifth-placed sides) will join hosts the Netherlands in the final tournament from July to August 2017. Draw date tbc.
• The other two runners-up will play off over two legs from 17–25 October for the remaining berth in the enlarged 16-team finals (after a draw, on 23 September, to determine who is at home in which leg).

Breda: Stadium Rat Verlegh (4 x group stage, semi-final)
Deventer: Stadium De Adelaarshorst (4 x group stage, quarter-final)
Doetinchem: Stadium De Vijverberg (4 x group stage, quarter-final)
Enschede: FC Twente Stadium (semi-final, final)
Rotterdam: Stadium Sparta-Het Kasteel (4 x group stage, quarter-final)
Tilburg: Stadium Koning Willem II (4 x group stage, quarter-final)
Utrecht: Stadium Galgenwaard (4 x group stage inc official opening game)

Group stage:
Match one
Sunday 16 July: Netherlands v A2 (Utrecht), A3 v A4 (Doetinchem)
Monday 17 July: B1 v B2 (Breda), B3 v B4 (Rotterdam)
Tuesday 18 July: C1 v C2 (Tilburg), C3 v C4 (Deventer)
Wednesday 19 July: D1 v D2 (Utrecht), D3 v D4 (Doetinchem)

Match two
Thursday 20 July: Netherlands v A3 (Rotterdam), A2 v A4 (Breda)
Friday 21 July: B1 v B3 (Tilburg), B2 v B4 (Deventer)
Saturday 22 July: C1 v C3 (Utrecht), C2 v C4 (Doetinchem)
Sunday 23 July: D1 v D3 (Breda), D2 v D4 (Rotterdam)

Match three
Monday 24 July: A4 v Netherlands (Tilburg), A2 v A3 (Deventer)
Tuesday 25 July: B4 v B1 (Utrecht), B2 v B3 (Doetinchem)
Wednesday 26 July: C4 v C1 (Breda), C2 v C3 (Rotterdam)
Thursday 27 July: D4 v D1 (Tilburg), D2 v D3 (Deventer)

Saturday 29 July: Winner A v Runner-up B (QF1, Doetinchem), Winner B v Runner-up A (QF2, Rotterdam)
Sunday 30 July: Winner C v Runner-up D (QF3, Tilburg), Winner D v Runner-up C (QF4, Deventer)

Thursday 3 August: QF1 v QF4 (Enschede), QF2 v QF3 (Breda)

Sunday 6 August (Enschede)


UEFA European Women's Championship
2013: Germany 1-0 Norway; Solna, Sweden
2009: Germany 6-2 England; Helsinki, Finland
2005: Germany 3-1 Norway; Blackburn, England
2001: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Ulm, Germany
1997: Germany 2-0 Italy; Oslo, Norway
1995: Germany 3-2 Sweden; Kaiserslautern, Germany
1993: Norway 1-0 Italy; Cesena, Italy
1991: Germany 3-1 Norway (aet); Aalborg, Denmark
UEFA European Competition for Representative Women's Teams
1989: West Germany 4-1 Norway; Osnabruck, West Germany
1987: Norway 2-1 Sweden; Oslo, Norway
1984: Sweden 1-1 England (4-3 pens); two legs, Gothenburg and Luton