UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Format & regulations

Eight teams compete in the UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship final tournament.

UEFA via Sportsfile

The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship was launched in 2007/08 and revamped in 2013/14. It consists of three distinct stages: two qualifying rounds and an eight-team final tournament.

Qualifying round
The competition begins with one-venue four-team mini-tournaments, although the nations with the highest UEFA coefficients may be given byes to the second qualifying round. The winners and runners-up of the groups go through along with the required number of third-placed teams with the best record against the first and second-placed teams, to ensure there are 28 sides in the next phase.

Elite round
The 28 teams are drawn into seven groups of four countries. The groups are played as one-venue mini-tournaments with the winners progressing to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
The eight teams are split into two groups of four. The top two in each group advance to the knockout phase, starting in the semi-finals.

The Regulations of the UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship are initially drawn up by the UEFA administration before being submitted to the UEFA Women's Football Committee. They are then forwarded upon that committee's approval to the UEFA Executive Committee for ratification.