UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Germany first to gain glory

The first UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship was played in 2007/08 but while the competition was new the winners were familiar – Germany.

Germany were worthy winners in Nyon
Germany were worthy winners in Nyon ©UEFA.com

The first UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship was played in 2007/08 but while the competition was new the winners were familiar – Germany added the title to their continental female crowns at senior and U19 level, and a grand slam was completed the day after the 3-0 triumph against France in Nyon as 1. FFC Frankfurt lifted the UEFA Women's Cup.

On 22 May 2006 the UEFA Executive Committee approved the new tournament, to also supply four teams to the inaugural 2008 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in New Zealand. By February 2007, an impressive 40 nations were in the draw and in September fixtures kicked off with Norway defeating Bulgaria 11-0 and Germany overcoming Israel 8-0. Germany and Norway were among 16 teams to reach the second qualifying round, with only four finals places on offer. Germany secured theirs with a match to spare, by which time France, England and Denmark had also qualified.

UEFA decided to act as tournament hosts themselves for the first two seasons of the new competition, staging all the games at the Colovray Stadium directly opposite its headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland. Germany and Denmark kicked off the competition and four minutes into the second half, Dzsenifer Marozsan struck what was to prove the only goal with a strong finish.

Later that day Germany's final opponents were decided after a tight encounter between England and France. England withstood plenty of pressure before taking the lead themselves through Stephanie Marsh in the 46th minute but France swiftly had a penalty when Marina Makanza was felled in the box and Pauline Crammer converted. England goalkeeper Lauren Davey kept her team in the game until the last six minutes of extra time when substitute Marine Augis found the target and in the final minute Makanza won another penalty which this time she scored herself.

Watched by UEFA President Michel Platini, Marozsan again opened the scoring in the final with an opportunist finish in the 33rd minute. Alexandra Popp, the joint top goalscorer across all teams in qualifying with ten goals ensured she ended the competition as overall leading striker when she doubled Germany's lead nine minutes into the second half with a low strike. France were seldom in the game and all doubt was removed with eight minutes left when Marozsan found space on the right and crossed for substitute Ivana Rudelic to seal victory, after which the frustrated Caroline La Villa was sent off.

Germany coach Ralf Peter said: "The opening goal was important for us, as this allowed us to be a bit more relaxed. We know France are a very good side as we lost to them at last year's Nordic Cup, so we're very pleased to come through this very difficult match. In the second half we justified the score with a solid performance."