UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Full guide to the Women's Under-17 finals

With the Women's Under-17 EURO due to kick off in the Czech Republic on Tuesday, we look at the contenders, the schedule, the television coverage – and much more besides.

Can Germany retain the title?
Can Germany retain the title? ©Sportsfile

The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship kicks off in the Czech Republic on Tuesday and we have the lowdown on the tenth edition of the tournament.

Who are the contenders?

Hosts the Czech Republic are joined in Group A by holders and five-time winners Germany, thrice champions Spain and France, who have reached a trio of finals only to lose to Germany (twice) and Spain. Group B pits 2010 runners-up the Republic of Ireland against both beaten 2016 semi-finalists, England and Norway, plus the Netherlands.

When are the games?

The group stage is played on Tuesday, Friday and next Monday. The top two in each group progress to the semi-finals on 11 May, with the final three days later. In the opening games on Tuesday, three start at 11:00CEST – Czech Republic v France, Republic of Ireland v England, and Norway v Netherlands – while Germany and Spain replay the 2016 final at 16:00CEST.

Plzeň city stadium will stage the final
Plzeň city stadium will stage the final©Getty Images

Where are the games?

Pilsen, Prestice, Pribram and Domazlice stage one game each on all three of the group stage matchdays. Domazlice and Pribram will host the semi-finals, with the decider in Pilsen.

Which matches are televised?

Eurosport will show the second semi-final from Pribram at 18:00CEST on 11 May, and the Pilsen final at 18:30CEST on 14 May.

How else can I follow the games?

UEFA.com will have live MatchCentres from all 15 matches and there will also be updates on @UEFAWomensEURO.

Who are the past winners?

Between them, Germany (5) and Spain (3) have won virtually all the previous editions, the exception being Poland in 2012/13.

Watch Germany beat Spain in the 2016 final in Belarus