Second qualifying round lineup

The 16-team second qualifying round lineup has been confirmed with Denmark, England, Hungary, F.Y.R. Macedonia, Russia and Wales through as the six best runners-up.

Sixteen teams remain in contention
Sixteen teams remain in contention ©Sportsfile

Six more through
Germany, who won the first U17 title last May in Nyon and beaten finalists France are among the teams which finished top of their sections, along with Belgium, Ukraine, Czech Republic, the Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain and Norway. The remaining sides competing in the spring will be the runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their group: 2008 semi-finalists Denmark and England, Hungary, F.Y.R. Macedonia, Russia and Wales. Missing out are Italy, the Republic of Ireland, Finland and Scotland.

Nyon aim
In the second qualifying round draw the 16 sides will be split into four groups, to be played as one-venue mini-tournaments in the spring. The four teams finishing top will progress to the final tournament, to be held again in UEFA's Swiss hometown of Nyon. The semi-finals at the Colovray Stadium are on 22 June with the matches for first and third place three days later.

Teams progressing from first qualifying round
Group 1: Belgium, Denmark*
Group 2: France
Group 3: Ukraine, Hungary*
Group 4: Czech Republic, F.Y.R. Macedonia*
Group 5: Netherlands
Group 6: Germany (holders)
Group 7: Sweden, Russia*
Group 8: Switzerland
Group 9: Spain, Wales*
Group 10: Norway, England*

*through as best runners-up