France miss out on second round

The second qualifying round lineup is complete with Italy, Denmark, Poland, Ukraine, Finland and Serbia through as the six best runners-up but not France, one of only two teams to reach both previous final stages.

Denmark finished below the Republic of Ireland in Group 4 but have also gone through

The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship second qualifying round lineup has been confirmed with Italy, Denmark, Poland, Ukraine, Finland and Serbia the best six runners-up joining the ten group winners from the first stage in the draw at 10.30CET on 16 December in Nyon.

Six progressing
Germany, winners of both previous editions, were among the ten sides securing automatic progress, as were 2008/09 runners-up Spain, England and Norway. However, France, the only team other than Germany to reach the two previous four-team final tournaments, are out. Second in their group behind the holders, France were not among the six runners-up with the best record against the sides first and third in their section. Wales, Hungary and the Czech Republic also missed out.

Nyon aim
In the second qualifying round draw the 16 sides will be split into four groups, to be played as one-venue mini-tournaments in the spring. The four teams finishing top will progress to the final tournament, again held in UEFA's Swiss hometown of Nyon. The semi-finals at the Colovray Stadium are on Tuesday 22 June with the final and third-place play-off four days later, taking place on a weekend for the first time.

Teams progressing from first qualifying round
Group 1: England
Group 2: Switzerland, Italy*
Group 3: Norway
Group 4: Republic of Ireland, Denmark*
Group 5: Belgium, Poland*
Group 6: Netherlands, Ukraine*
Group 7: Germany (holders)
Group 8: Sweden, Finland*
Group 9: Austria
Group 10: Spain, Serbia*

*through as best runners-up