UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

World Cup trip for trio

The top three at the European finals – Spain, the Republic of Ireland and Germany – will play at September's FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in Trinidad and Tobago.

The Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain will stage the final on 25 September
The Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain will stage the final on 25 September ©Getty Images

Spain, the Republic of Ireland and Germany will represent Europe in the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in Trinidad and Tobago from 5 to 25 September.

UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship winners Spain and runners-up Ireland had sealed their places before meeting in Saturday's decider in Nyon, Germany completing the lineup when they defeated the Netherlands 3-0 in the third-place play-off.

Germany, third in the inaugural event in New Zealand in 2008, will be in Group B with Mexico, Korea Republic and South Africa. They will hope the 2004 FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup proves an omen, as won having surprisingly missed out on that year's UEFA European Women's U19 Championship title, won by Spain.

Coach Ralf Peter, who also led Germany in 2008, told UEFA.com: "The World Cup is a special event: 16 teams from all over the world; the best teams in the world. New Zealand in 2008 was a great experience for our young girls and we came third and now we have to prepare and work hard for September."

New Zealand, Venezuela and Japan will be Spain's Group C opponents and coach Jorge Vilda said: "We will start preparing for the World Cup in the middle of July – we are not treating it as a trip to the Caribbean but as a further goal for this team to try to achieve."

Ireland, in their first Women's World Cup at any level, go into Group D with Brazil, Canada and Ghana. Manager Noel King said: "We go to Trinidad after six wins and two draws but we know we have to be better. We know we will improve and this is not the end for this team but the beginning. We need to do more when we have the ball but we know that, we need to be a little more creative when we have possession that and we'll work on that."

Group A contains both hosts Trinidad and Tobago – coached by Even Pellerud, who led Norway to the 1995 FIFA Women's World Cup – and holders Korea DPR. The top two from each group go into the quarter-finals.

2010 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup
UEFA members in bold
Group AGroup B
Trinidad and Tobago (hosts)Germany
NigeriaKorea Republic
Korea DPR (holders)South Africa
Group CGroup D
New ZealandRepublic of Ireland