UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

England and France among best runners-up

England, Russia, Poland, Italy and France have completed the second qualifying round lineup as the five best runners-up, meaning no room for the Republic of Ireland or the Netherlands.

France were pipped by Sweden in their group but have joined them in the next round
France were pipped by Sweden in their group but have joined them in the next round ©District des Landes de Football

The 16-team lineup for the UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship second qualifying round has been confirmed and last season's runners-up, the Republic of Ireland, will not be involved.

Top seeds Germany − champions of the inaugural 2008 and 2009 editions − were given a bye to the second stage, the draw for which takes place on 16 November at 12.00CET. They have been joined by the ten winners of the first qualifying round mini-tournaments held over the last month – including holders Spain – with the remaining places taken by the five runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their groups.

They are England, Russia, Poland, Italy and France, who reached the first two final tournaments but fell in the opening stage last season. France's place was confirmed when the last group concluded with Ireland's 2-0 loss to the Czech Republic, their record not enough for them to join the top five runners-up. Also missing out were the Netherlands, beaten by Spain in last season's semi-finals and pipped 1-0 by the same team in their group decider.

In the second qualifying round draw countries will be split into four pots, based on their coefficient. They will be drawn into four groups of four teams, each containing one nation from each pot, though no side can meet opponents they played in the first qualifying round. Games will be played in spring and the four pool winners progress to the final tournament at the Colovray Stadium opposite UEFA's Nyon headquarters from 28 to 31 July.

Second qualifying round lineup
(groups from first qualifying round)
Bye: Germany
Group 1: Finland
Group 2: Czech Republic
Group 3: Denmark
Group 4: Spain (holders)
Group 5: Iceland, Italy*
Group 6: Belgium, England*
Group 7: Scotland
Group 8: Sweden, France*
Group 9: Switzerland, Poland*
Group 10: Wales, Russia*

*Best runners-up

Selected for you