UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Women's U17 finals places at stake

The second qualifying round kicks off on Saturday, with holders Spain in action in the Czech Republic and Switzerland hoping to earn a place in the finals on home soil for the first time.

Holders Spain hope to reach the finals again
Holders Spain hope to reach the finals again ©Jan de Koning/KNVB

Three of the four UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship second qualifying round groups begin on Saturday, with Spain continuing their title defence in the Czech Republic.

Only the winners of the four groups will progress to the finals, to be played opposite UEFA's Nyon headquarters from 28 July. Therefore Spain not only have to finish above the Czech Republic – who accounted for last season's runners-up the Republic of Ireland in the first qualifying round in the autumn – but also above Belgium and Italy in Group 2.

Switzerland hope to earn qualification for the finals on home soil for the first time and face Scotland, Wales and France, runners-up in the championship's inaugural 2008 edition. Iceland, who had the best record in the first qualifying round with three wins and 29 goals, play Sweden, England and section hosts Poland.

While those groups conclude on 14 April, the remaining pool does not start until a week later. Denmark will host it against Finland, Russia and Germany, winners of the first two editions but beaten in the semi-finals last season.

In the semi-finals in Nyon on 28 July, the winners of Group 1 in Poland will take on the winners of Group 2 in the Czech Republic, with the other qualifiers then to meet. The final and third-place play-off take place three days later.

Second qualifying round draw (hosts in bold)
Group 1 (9-14 April): Iceland, Sweden, England, Poland

Group 2 (9-14 April): Spain, Czech Republic, Belgium, Italy

Group 3 (21-26 April): Germany, Denmark, Finland, Russia

Group 4 (9-14 April): Switzerland, Scotland, Wales, France

Semi-finals (Nyon, 28 July)
Winner Group 1 v Winner Group 2
Winner Group 3 v Winner Group 4

Selected for you