Czech Republic, Serbia, Finland, Poland through

Serbia, Finland, Poland and the Czech Republic have ended the first qualifying round as best runners-up, joining ten group winners plus Germany and the Netherlands in the 15 November draw.

Poland were pipped by Switzerland in their group this week but are now through
©Przemysław Kizeweter

The UEFA European Women's Championship second qualifying round lineup has been completed with the confirmation that the Czech Republic, Serbia, Finland and Poland gone through as the four runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their group.

The ten group winners, including 2010 and 2011 champions Spain and the teams they beat in those finals the Republic of Ireland and France, were assured of places alongside top seeds Germany and the Netherlands in the 15 November draw. The Czech Republic, Serbia, Finland and Poland have now taken the last four places with Hungary having missed out in Group 3 with a 5-0 loss to Sweden today, the other eliminated runners-up being Romania, Russia, Wales, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and unbeaten Scotland.

The four section winners in the second qualifying round in the spring progress to the finals held, as usual, at the Colovray Stadium in UEFA's Swiss home town of Nyon from 26 to 29 June. That event will also act as the European qualifier for the 2012 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup, in which Azerbaijan, who were eliminated in Group 9, will compete as hosts.

Two-time champions Germany and the Netherlands, exempted from the first qualifying round due to their competition coefficient, met twice this week in friendlies. Germany, at home in both games, won the first 2-1 before being held 1-1.

Final first qualifying round standings

Progressing to second qualifying round
Bye: Germany, Netherlands
Group 1: Switzerland, Poland*
Group 2: Republic of Ireland
Group 3: Sweden
Group 4: Norway
Group 5: France
Group 6: England. Finland*
Group 7: Denmark, Serbia*
Group 8: Belgium, Czech Republic*
Group 9: Spain (holders)
Group 10: Iceland

*Best runners-up