UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Seedings announced for second qualifying round

Holders Spain could face the only other side to win the competition, Germany, in the second qualifying round after the seedings were announced for Tuesday's draw live on UEFA.com.

Spain are aiming for a third straight victory having beaten France in the 2011 final
Spain are aiming for a third straight victory having beaten France in the 2011 final ©Sportsfile

Holders Spain could meet either the team they beat in last season's final, France, or fellow two-time winners Germany after the seeding pots were announced for the UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship second qualifying round draw in Nyon at 12.30CET on 15 November, streamed live on UEFA.com.

Spain were one of 14 teams to come through the first qualifying round and join the two highest-ranked nations given byes to the second stage, Germany and the Netherlands. The entrants have been divided into four seeding pots according to the coefficient ranking list. Helping to make the draw will be Clarisse Le Bihan, vice-captain of last season's runners-up France, who will receive the Fair Play trophy on behalf of her team.

Each group will contain one team from all four pots, with mini-tournament hosts then appointed for the matches, to be played by mid-April. No team can be drawn against a side they met in the first qualifying round.

Seeding pots
Pot A:
Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland, France

Pot B: Sweden, Spain (holders), Norway, England

Pot C: Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Republic of Ireland

Pot D: Serbia, Iceland, Poland, Finland

Final tournament
The four group winners will progress to the final tournament, held as in previous years at the Colovray stadium in Nyon, Switzerland from 26 to 29 June. It also acts as a qualifier for the 2012 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in Azerbaijan.

The matches will follow this pattern:

Semi-finals (26 June)
Winner Group 1 v Winner Group 2
Winner Group 3 v Winner Group 4

Third-place play-off (29 June)
Loser semi-final 1 v Loser semi-final 2

Final (29 June)
Winner semi-final 1 v Winner semi-final 2