UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Draw made for 2012/13 first qualifying round

Spain will take on Poland, Faroe Islands and Slovakia in next season's first qualifying round while Germany play Russia, Greece and Romania, and Montenegro face a tough debut.

Draw made for 2012/13 first qualifying round
Draw made for 2012/13 first qualifying round ©UEFA.com

The 2012/13 UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship first qualifying round draw has been made with a record 44 teams involved in the sixth edition.

Spain, who have won the last two titles, will take on Poland, Faroe Islands and hosts Slovakia in the first mini-tournament to begin on 3 September next year, two months before the round ends. Germany, winners of the first two finals in 2008 and 2009 and the only team to make the last four in all previous seasons, were drawn with Russia, home side Greece and Romania in Group 7 by Karen Espelund, UEFA Executive Committee member by invitation, and the vice-captain of last season's runners-up France, Clarisse Le Bihan.

Montenegro, making their first appearance at this level, go to the Netherlands and also face Ukraine and Kazakhstan in Group 8. The 11 group winners and five runners-up with the best record against the sides first and third in their section will contest the second qualifying round in spring 2013.

Four teams will eventually qualify for the final tournament which, as in previous years, will be held in UEFA's hometown of Nyon, Switzerland from 25 to 28 June 2013.

2012/13 first qualifying round draw
Group 1:
Switzerland, Belgium, Bulgaria, Moldova*
(19-24 October)

Group 2: England, Italy, Northern Ireland*, Israel
(10-15 September)

Group 3: France, Hungary, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Lithuania*
(1-6 October)

Group 4: Czech Republic, Iceland, Estonia, Slovenia*
(6-11 September)

Group 5: Denmark, Scotland, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Serbia (29 September-4 October)

Group 6: Sweden, Austria*, Croatia, Azerbaijan
(29 October-3 November)

Group 7: Germany, Russia, Greece*, Romania
(29 October-3 November)

Group 8: Netherlands*, Ukraine, Montenegro, Kazakhstan
(20-25 October)

Group 9: Republic of Ireland, Finland, Belarus, Georgia*
(1-6 October)

Group 10: Norway, Wales, Latvia*, Turkey
(4-9 September)

Group 11: Spain, Poland, Faroe Islands, Slovakia*
(3-8 September)