UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Unbeaten Ireland and Serbia progress

The Republic of Ireland and hosts Serbia advanced from qualifying round Group 4 unbeaten but Romania must wait to see if they will join them in the next stage.

Dearbhaile Beirne scores for Ireland in their 1-1 draw with Serbia
Dearbhaile Beirne scores for Ireland in their 1-1 draw with Serbia ©Dejan Vuković

The Republic of Ireland and hosts Serbia are through to the UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship elite round after completing qualifying round Group 4 unbeaten.

Full results and standings

  • Ireland, yet to qualify since reaching the 2010 final, beat Lithuania 2-0, Sarah McKevitt and Jamie Finn getting the goals among 30 chances, 12 on target.
  • Marija Kovačević scored with 15 minutes left to ensure Serbia held Romania 1-1 after Milana Golubović's early own goal.
  • Ireland made sure of an elite round spot by defeating Romania 2-0 courtesy of Niamh Farrelly and McKevitt
  • Serbia moved into second position, overcoming Lithuania 4-1 though only after Allegra Poljak broke the deadlock on 55 minutes.
  • Lijana Gedminaitė levelled seven minutes later but substitutes Milana Knežević and Teodora Burkert restored Serbia's advantage before Poljak's clincher.
  • Ireland could not make it three wins out of three against Serbia, with Kovačević cancelling out McKevitt's second of the mini-tournament to earn the hosts a 1-1 draw and second spot.
  • "We are very pleased," said Ireland coach David Connell. "We had tough games against quality opponents. We go home happy and looking forward to the upcoming draw."
  • Romania came third in the group after Dariana Indrei struck a hat-trick as they recovered from 1-0 and 3-1 down to draw 3-3 with Lithuania.

Through to elite round
Group 2: Finland, Poland
Group 3:
Switzerland, Hungary
Group 4:
Republic of Ireland, Serbia
Group 5:
Czech Republic, Austria
Group 6:
Sweden, Scotland
Group 7:
Belgium, Belarus
Group 8:
Denmark, Turkey
Group 9:
Italy, Norway
Bye: Germany (holders), France, Spain
TBC: 5 more

Draw: 19 November, involving 24 teams, of whom seven will join hosts Iceland in the finals.