Belgium and Belarus comfortable in Riga

Belgium, with three wins and ten unanswered goals, progressed along with Belarus from qualifying round Group 7 at the expense of Wales and Latvia in Riga.

Ekaterina Goncharova struck in Belarus's decisive defeat of Latvia on Saturday

Belgium and Belarus progressed from UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship qualifying round Group 7 at the expense of Wales and hosts Latvia after Saturday's concluding games.

Full results and standings

  • Pacy Belarus began with what looked like being a crucial 2-0 defeat of Wales courtesy of two excellent goals from Oksana Dranovskaya in four first-half minutes.
  • Wales, under newly-appointed senior coach Jayne Ludlow, were allowed few sights of goal.
  • Belgium were held for 58 minutes by Latvia before Sarah Wijnants, Heleen De Schrijver and Celien Guns secured a 3-0 victory as the home nation tired.
  • Two days later Belgium won again, Alexandra Soree and Guns's free-kick condemning Belarus to a 2-0 reverse. The margin could have been bigger.
  • A second-half Chloe Chivers hat-trick, including two individual goals from the substitute, ensured Wales recovered to beat Latvia 3-0. The home side had Anastasija Tarasova sent off for two first-half bookings.
  • Belgium made certain of first place by overcoming Wales 5-0. Wales were forced into an early defensive substitution and Mariam Abdulai Toloba and Soree both scored twice in the first half. Wales restricted Belgium to one more in the last minute.
  • Belarus sealed qualification behind Belgium as they defeated Latvia 6-0, taking control from the off and the lead on six minutes through Margarita Yushko. Viktoryia Kakoshina doubled their advantage from an acute angle.
  • Four more goals were added after the break, as Yushko hit her second, winger Ekaterina Goncharova scored one and created another, and substitute Darya Stezhko registered two more.

Through to elite round
Group 7: Belgium, Belarus
Group 9:
Italy, Norway
Bye: Germany (holders), France, Spain
TBC: 17 more

Draw: 19 November, involving 24 teams, of which seven will join hosts Iceland in the finals.