Hosts England face debutants

Hosts England will take on finals debutants Italy, Austria and Portugal, while Scotland face Germany, France and Spain after the draw was made for the first eight-team event.

Faye White and Sue Smith help conduct the UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship finals draw

Hosts England will take on finals debutants Italy, Austria and Portugal after the draw was made for the first eight-team UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship final tournament.

In the draw at Burton-upon-Trent town hall, made by former England captain Faye White and midfielder Sue Smith along with UEFA's head of women's and futsal competitions, Mikael Salzer, Italy were given the honour of opening the tournament against England in Telford on 26 November, while Austria's first-ever women's finals game is against Portugal later that day. The other Women's U17 newcomers Scotland meet three-time winners Germany, twice champions Spain and three-time runners-up France.

Group A: England (hosts), Italy, Austria, Portugal

Group B: Germany, Scotland, France, Spain

Smith said: "It was quite daunting as a 16-year-old playing against women. Age-group tournaments help the players develop. I'd have loved to have taken part in a tournament like this. It's really important for the girls' development and progression."

The opening games will kick off at 12.30 local time (13.30CET) on Tuesday 26 November with double-headers at Telford and Hinckley. Telford will host an opening ceremony before England get the tournament under way against Italy at the New Bucks Head Stadium. All four venues will hold fixtures on the next two matchdays, 29 November and 2 December, England playing Austria in Chesterfield and then Portugal in Burton-upon-Trent.

These two venues will also stage the 5 December semi-finals. The third-place match at Burton and the final at Chesterfield will take place three days later, marking the culmination of the 150th anniversary celebrations for The Football Association (FA).

Having previously concluded as a four-team knockout event held in UEFA's Swiss home town of Nyon, the competition has expanded for its seventh season to end with the same eight-nation finals in a predetermined host country as the women's U19s and other youth championships. The one-off move from the usual summer date is as the 2014 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in Costa Rica, for which the top three in the European tournament will qualify, will be played from 15 March and 5 April.

Schedule, kick-offs CET, UK time is one hour behind
Eurosport will show the Chesterfield semi-final and the final live
Tue 26 NovAENG v ITATelford13.30
Tue 26 NovAAUT v PORTelford20.00
Tue 26 NovBGER v SCOHinckley13.30
Tue 26 NovBFRA v ESPHinckley20.00
Fri 29 NovAITA v PORHinckley13.30
Fri 29 NovAENG v AUTChesterfield20.00
Fri 29 NovBGER v FRATelford13.30
Fri 29 NovBSCO v ESPBurton20.00
Mon 2 DecAPOR v ENGBurton13.30
Mon 2 DecAITA v AUTTelford13.30
Mon 2 DecBESP v GERHinckley13.30
Mon 2 DecBSCO v FRAChesterfield13.30
Thu 5 DecSemi-finaltbcChesterfield18.00
Thu 5 DecSemi-finaltbcBurton20.00
Sun 8 DecThird-placetbcBurton13.00
Sun 8 DecFinaltbcChesterfield18.00

There will be Fanzones open before England's three games:
England v Italy - 10.30am UK time
England v Austria - 5pm UK time
Portugal v England - 10.30am UK time