UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Next season: England

The 2013/14 UEFA European Women's U17 Championship first qualifying round takes place this summer as a first step towards the England-hosted finals in November and December.

The tournament will be based around St George's Park
The tournament will be based around St George's Park ©FA

Four venues in England will stage the first eight-team UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship from 26 November until 8 December.

Since the championship's inaugural edition, the tournament has usually concluded with a four-team knockout event at the Colovray Stadium opposite UEFA's Swiss headquarters in Nyon, but this season's finals – from 25 to 28 June – mark the last with that format as the showpiece doubles in size in line with other European youth competitions. England were awarded the 2013/14 edition, with Iceland and Belarus to hold subsequent tournaments.

The 2013/14 finals will therefore be played at the end of the English Football Association (FA)'s 150th anniversary year, in November and December. England qualify automatically as hosts and the draw for the first of two qualifying rounds was made last November, involving 40 nations.

The matches will be played between 1 and 7 July or 29 July and 11 August with ten group winners, ten runners-up and the third-placed side with the best record against the top two in their section joining top seeds France, Germany and Spain in the second qualifying round between 20 September and 20 October; this will define the seven teams that go to England. The finals will act as a qualifier for the 2014 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup.

Following on from staging the women's Olympic tournament, the FA's 2013 celebrations will also include, among other activities, the UEFA Women's Champions League final at Stamford Bridge on 23 May. England previously hosted UEFA Women's EURO 2005 which opened with a still tournament-record crowd of 29,092 watching the home team play Finland at the City of Manchester Stadium.

First qualifying round draw
Group 1 (2–7 August):
 Czech Republic, Scotland*, Northern Ireland, Montenegro

Group 2 (28 July–3 August): Norway, Romania, Croatia, Estonia*

Group 3 (2–7 August): Netherlands, Finland, Ukraine*, Slovakia 

Group 4 (6–11 August): Republic of Ireland, Russia*, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Turkey

Group 5 (30 July–4 August): Iceland, Hungary, Latvia, Moldova*

Group 6 (2–7 August): Sweden, Serbia, Portugal, Israel*

Group 7 (6–11 August): Belgium, Slovenia*, Belarus, Lithuania 

Group 8 (2–7 August): Poland*, Austria, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan 

Group 9 (2–7 July): Switzerland, Italy, Bulgaria*, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Group 10 (5–10 August): Denmark*, Wales, Faroe Islands, Greece


Bye to second qualifying round: Germany, Spain, France

Bye to final tournament: England (hosts)