Women's Under-17 elite round begins

The first of the six elite round groups is set to begin in Russia and UEFA.com previews the next step on the road to Iceland and presents highlights of every final.

Germany are aiming to win the second eight-team final tournament after success last season in England
©Getty Images

The first of the six UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship elite round groups kicks off on Sunday with former winners Spain among the four contenders in Russia aiming for a spot in the finals in Iceland. UEFA.com previews what is in store and present highlights of every past final.

Elite round groups
Group 1 (11–16 April): Finland, Switzerland, Turkey*, Serbia

Group 2 (9–14 April): England, Netherlands, Republic of Ireland*, Hungary

Group 3 (9–14 April): Germany (holders), Italy*, Belarus, Czech Republic

Group 4 (22–27 March): Spain, Belgium, Russia*, Romania

Group 5 (11–16 April): Denmark, Austria*, Sweden, Norway

Group 6 (23–28 March): France, Scotland, Poland*, Slovakia


The six group winners and the runner-up with the best record against the sides first and third in their pool qualify to join hosts Iceland in the finals from 22 June to 4 July 2015.

Elite round facts
• Germany, France and Spain received a bye to this round.

• Germany won the first eight-team finals last season in England, their fourth title.

• Last season's runners-up Spain have won two championships, with Poland the other former winners.

• Finland, Turkey, Belarus (who will stage the 2016 tournament), Russia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia, Serbia and Romania are all hoping to qualify for the first time.