UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2020/21 Women’s U17 qualifying round draw

The draw has set 12 groups to begin the road to the Faroe Islands.


The 2020/21 UEFA European Women’s Under-17 Championship qualifying round draw has been made in Nyon by Valentina Kröll, captain of the Austria team in the 2019 finals, who received the Respect Fair Play award on behalf of her team.

Qualifying round groups

Group 1: Finland, Hungary, Turkey (hosts), Israel

Group 2: Germany, Belgium, Azerbaijan, Malta (hosts)

Group 3: Republic of Ireland, Portugal (hosts), Wales, North Macedonia

Group 4: Denmark, Switzerland (hosts), Slovakia, Kazakhstan

Group 5: Spain, Russia, Bulgaria (hosts), Armenia

Group 6: England, Slovenia, Northern Ireland (hosts), Moldova

Group 7: France, Iceland, Ukraine, Estonia (hosts)

Group 8: Poland, Serbia, Croatia (hosts), Montenegro

Group 9: Netherlands, Sweden, Romania, Albania (hosts)

Group 10: Italy, Scotland, Belarus (hosts), Latvia

Group 11: Norway, Czech Republic, Bosnia and Herzegovina (hosts), Georgia

Group 12: Austria, Greece, Lithuania (hosts), Kosovo

• The 12 group winners and the two runners-up with the best record against the sides first and third in their section advance to the play-offs held in March.

• The seven play-off winners will join hosts the Faroe Islands in the finals that May.

How the draw worked

Draw procedure and seeding pots
Pot A:
Germany, Spain, England, Netherlands, Norway, Denmark, Italy, France, Poland, Republic of Ireland, Austria, Finland

Pot B: Czech Republic, Serbia*, Portugal, Belgium, Iceland, Sweden, Hungary, Switzerland, Slovenia, Russia*, Scotland, Greece

Pot C: Bulgaria, Wales, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Northern Ireland, Ukraine*, Belarus, Turkey, Slovakia, Azerbaijan*, Lithuania, Romania, Croatia

Pot D: Georgia, Israel, Estonia, Montenegro, Latvia, Malta, Moldova, Kazakhstan, North Macedonia, Albania, Armenia*, Kosovo*

*Based on previous decisions of the UEFA Executive Committee and UEFA Emergency Panel, the following pairs of teams could not be drawn together: Russia & Ukraine, Russia & Kosovo, Serbia & Kosovo, Bosnia and Herzegovina & Kosovo, Azerbaijan & Armenia

Bye to final tournament: Faroe Islands (hosts)

Who is involved?
• Hosts Faroe Islands qualify directly for the final tournament in May 2021

• The 48 entrants start in the qualifying round where they are split into 12 groups of four.

The draw
• There were four seeding pots in accordance with the coefficient rankings list, the 12 countries with the highest ranking in Pot A, the next 12 in Pot B, and so on.

• Each group has one team from each pot, with hosts then appointed to stage the mini-tournaments.