UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2021/22 Women's U17 round 1 guide

The 2021/22 Women's U17 EURO has a new format including promotion and relegation with the first round running until 14 November.

Getty Images

Round 1 of the new UEFA Nations League-style UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship is in progress with a record 49 teams involved.

A new format replaces the old qualifying and elite rounds, still featuring one-venue mini-tournaments but now including two leagues with promotion and relegation and leading to the eight-team 2022 finals in Bosnia and Herzegovina (who will compete in the two rounds before automatically progressing to the final tournament).

The competition returns after the 2019/20 and 2020/21 editions were halted due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The finals will act as a qualifier for the 2022 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in India from 11 to 30 October of that year.

Round 1 groups

League A

Group A1 (complete)
Stay in League A for round 2: Republic of Ireland, Norway*, Hungary
Transfer to League B: Bulgaria

Group A2 (29 September–5 October): Netherlands*, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Scotland

Group A3 (22–28 October): Italy, France, Sweden*, Wales

Group A4 (8–14 November): Germany (holders), Finland, Portugal*, Bosnia and Herzegovina (finals hosts)

Group A5 (complete)
Stay in League A for round 2: Poland*, Russia, England
Transfer to League B: Belgium

Group A6 (complete)
Stay in League A for round 2: Denmark, Austria, Greece*
Transfer to League B: Switzerland

Group A7 (complete)
Stay in League A for round 2: Spain, Iceland, Serbia*
Transfer to League B: Northern Ireland


Group B1 (complete)
Promoted to League A for round 2: Kosovo
Runners-up: Belarus
Stay in League B: Luxembourg*, Georgia

Group B2 (complete)
Promoted to League A for round 2: Croatia*
Runners-up: Lithuania
Stay in League B: Kazakhstan, Armenia

Group B3 (complete)
Promoted to League A for round 2: Ukraine
Runners-up: Estonia*
Stay in League B: Moldova, North Macedonia

Group B4 (8–14 November): Slovakia*, Israel, Faroe Islands

Group B5 (complete)
Promoted to League A for round 2: Romania
Runners-up: Turkey*
Stay in League B: Latvia

Group B6 (complete)
Promoted to League A for round 2: Montenegro
Runners-up: Azerbaijan
Stay in League B: Albania*

*Mini-tournament hosts

Competition system

Round 1 will decide which teams are promoted and relegated ahead of round 2 in spring 2022.


  • From League B to A: the six group winners plus the runner-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section.


  • From League A to B: the seven teams ranked fourth in their groups.

The round 2 draw will be held in late 2021, with the seven League A group winners in the spring joining Bosnia and Herzegovina in the finals from 3 to 15 May 2022. There will also be promotion and relegation between Leagues A and B ahead of 2022/23 round 1. Seedings for the round 2 draw will be determined by the positions in which each team finishes in round 1.