UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2022/23 Women's U17 EURO round 2 latest: Sweden, Spain, England, Poland qualify

Sweden, England, Spain and Poland have booked their place alongside finals hosts Estonia with three spots still up for grabs as well as promotion and relegation between the leagues

Sweden celebrate the win against the Netherlands that took them to their first WU17 EURO finals in ten years
Sweden celebrate the win against the Netherlands that took them to their first WU17 EURO finals in ten years Getty Images

UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship round 2 runs until 30 March, with Sweden, Spain, England and Poland the first four of seven teams that will book their place alongside hosts Estonia in the finals from 14 to 26 May. Promotion and relegation between the leagues is also at stake.

The make-up of the two leagues were decided by round 1 in the autumn. Estonia took part in round 2, though they were in any case assured of a finals place as hosts.

League A consists of 28 teams, including the seven promoted from League B. The seven eventual group winners will qualify for the finals. The teams finishing fourth will be relegated to League B for 2023/24 round 1.

The 20 teams in League B, including those relegated from League A in the autumn, compete for promotion.


Round 2 groups

League A

Group A1 (complete)
Qualified for finals: Poland
Also stay in League A: Romania*, Czechia
Transfer to League B: Estonia (finals hosts)

Group A2 (complete)
Qualified for finals: England
Also stay in League A: Belgium, Norway
Transfer to League B: Croatia*

Group A3 (23–29 March): Germany (holders), Portugal*, Hungary, North Macedonia

Group A4 (17–23 March): Switzerland, Slovenia*, Austria, Slovakia

Group A5 (23–29 March): Republic of Ireland, France*, Italy, Kosovo

Group A6 (complete)
Qualified for finals: Spain
Also stay in League A: Denmark, Belarus
Transfer to League B: Serbia*

Group A7 (complete)
Qualified for finals: Sweden
Also stay in League A: Netherlands*, Finland
Transfer to League B: Wales

*Group hosts

  • The seven group winners qualify to join hosts Estonia in the finals.
  • The teams finishing fourth in each group will be relegated to League B for 2023/24 round 1.
  • Sweden have qualified for the first time since finishing runners-up in 2012/13, the last four-team final tournament.
  • Poland have made it for only the second time since beating Sweden in the 2012/13 final, having also qualified in 2017/18.
  • England are into their ninth final tournament.
  • Four-time champions Spain, runners-up last season but then winners of the FIFA U-17 World Cup for the second time running, have now qualified for 12 of 14 editions, and nine in a row.
  • Germany beat Spain in the 2021/22 final to claim their eighth title from the 13 past editions.
  • Along with Germany, the only other past champions are Spain and Poland.
  • France beat Italy 4-2 in round 1.
  • Croatia, Hungary, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia are aiming to join Estonia in making finals debuts.

League B

Group B1 (24–30 March): Greece, Faroe Islands, Lithuania*, Moldova

Group B2 (22–28 March): Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Montenegro

Group B3 (compete)
Promoted to League A: Scotland*
Runners-up: Israel
Also in group: Georgia

Group B4 (complete)
Promoted to League A: Iceland
Runners-up: Luxembourg
Also in group: Albania*

Group B5 (24–30 March): Northern Ireland, Türkiye*, Armenia

Group B6 (complete)
Promoted to League A: Ukraine
Runners-up: Bulgaria*
Also in group: Latvia

*Group hosts

  • The group winners, and the runner-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section, will be promoted to League A for 2023/24 round 1.
How the leagues were formed by round 1

League A

Round 1 group winners: Czechia (Group A1), Spain (A2), Republic of Ireland (A3), Switzerland (A4), Germany (A5, holders), England (A6), Netherlands (A7)

Round 1 group runners-up: Norway (A1), Poland (A2), Finland (A3), France (A4), Slovenia (A5), Denmark (A6), Portugal (A7)

Round 1 group third place: Hungary (A1), Belgium (A2), Austria (A3), Italy (A4), Serbia (A5), Estonia (A6, finals hosts), Sweden (A7)

Promoted from League B: Belarus, Croatia, Kosovo (best runners-up), North Macedonia, Romania, Slovakia, Wales

League B

Relegated from League A: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Greece, Iceland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Türkiye, Ukraine

Round 2 group runners-up: Luxembourg (B1), Faroe Islands (B3), Latvia (B4), Israel (B5), Kazakhstan (B6)

Round 2 group third place: Armenia (B1), Albania (B2), Bulgaria (B3), Azerbaijan (B4), Montenegro (B5), Lithuania (B6)

Round 2 group fourth place: Georgia (B1), Moldova (B2)