UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2022/23 Women's U17 EURO round 2: England, France, Germany, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland join Estonia in finals

Seven teams have booked their places alongside finals hosts Estonia, with relegation between the leagues also decided.

Sweden celebrate the win against the Netherlands that took them to their first Women's Under-17 EURO finals in ten years
Sweden celebrate the win against the Netherlands that took them to their first Women's Under-17 EURO finals in ten years Getty Images

England, France, holders Germany, Poland, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland have booked their places alongside hosts Estonia in the UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship finals, to be held from 14 to 26 May.

The make-up of the two leagues was decided by round 1 in the autumn. Estonia took part in round 2, though they were already assured of a finals berth as hosts.

League A consisted of 28 teams, including the seven promoted from League B. The seven group winners have qualified for the finals. The draw will take place at Lilleküla Stadium, Tallinn, at 09:00 CET on Thursday 13 April.

The teams that finished fourth will be relegated to League B for 2023/24 round 1, to be replaced by the seven teams promoted from League B.


Round 2 groups

League A

Group A1
Qualified for finals: Poland
Also stay in League A: Romania*, Czechia
Transfer to League B: Estonia (finals hosts)

Group A2
Qualified for finals: England
Also stay in League A: Belgium, Norway
Transfer to League B: Croatia*

Group A3
Qualified for finals: Germany (holders)
Also stay in League A: Portugal*, Hungary
Transfer to League B: North Macedonia

Group A4
Qualified for finals: Switzerland
Also stay in League A: Slovenia*, Austria
Transfer to League B: Slovakia

Group A5
Qualified for finals: France*
Also stay in League A: Republic of Ireland, Italy
Transfer to League B: Kosovo

Group A6
Qualified for finals: Spain
Also stay in League A: Denmark, Belarus
Transfer to League B: Serbia*

Group A7
Qualified for finals: Sweden
Also stay in League A: Netherlands*, Finland
Transfer to League B: Wales

*Group hosts

  • The seven group winners qualify to join hosts Estonia in the finals.
  • The teams finishing fourth in each group will be relegated to League B for 2023/24 round 1.
  • Germany beat Spain in the 2022 final to claim their eighth title from the 13 past editions. They have qualified for 13 of the 14 tournaments, reaching at least the semi-finals in every one since the switch to eight teams in 2013/14.
  • Along with Germany, the only other past champions are Spain (four titles) and Poland (one), both of who have made it this time.
  • Spain, runners-up last season but then winners of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup for the second time running, have now qualified for 12 of 14 editions, and nine in a row.
  • Poland have made it for only the second time since beating Sweden in the 2013 final, having also qualified in 2017/18.
  • Sweden have qualified for the first time since finishing runners-up in 2012/13, the last four-team final tournament.
  • England are through to their eighth final tournament.
  • Switzerland are into the finals for the first time since finishing runners-up in 2014/15.
  • France are three-time runners-up and were semi-finalists last season.
2022 final highlights: Germany 2-2 Spain (3-2 pens)

League B

Group B1
Promoted to League A: Greece
Also in group: Faroe Islands, Lithuania*, Moldova

Group B2
Promoted to League A: Bosnia and Herzegovina*
Also in group: Montenegro, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan

Group B3
Promoted to League A: Scotland*
Also in group: Israel, Georgia

Group B4
Promoted to League A: Iceland
Also in group: Luxembourg, Albania*

Group B5
Promoted to League A: Northern Ireland
Also in group: Türkiye*
Withdrew: Armenia

Group B6
Promoted to League A: Ukraine, Bulgaria*
Also in group: Latvia

*Group hosts

  • *Promoted to League A for round 1 of 2023/24 as best runners-up. In line with Article 22 of the competition regulations, when ranking the League B runners-up on completion of round 2 for the purpose of promotions and relegations for the next edition, the results against the third- and fourth-ranked team are discarded should there exceptionally be group( of two (as Armenia withdrew).
How the leagues were formed by round 1

League A

Round 1 group winners: Czechia (Group A1), Spain (A2), Republic of Ireland (A3), Switzerland (A4), Germany (A5, holders), England (A6), Netherlands (A7)

Round 1 group runners-up: Norway (A1), Poland (A2), Finland (A3), France (A4), Slovenia (A5), Denmark (A6), Portugal (A7)

Round 1 group third place: Hungary (A1), Belgium (A2), Austria (A3), Italy (A4), Serbia (A5), Estonia (A6, finals hosts), Sweden (A7)

Promoted from League B: Belarus, Croatia, Kosovo (best runners-up), North Macedonia, Romania, Slovakia, Wales

League B

Relegated from League A: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Greece, Iceland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Türkiye, Ukraine

Round 2 group runners-up: Luxembourg (B1), Faroe Islands (B3), Latvia (B4), Israel (B5), Kazakhstan (B6)

Round 2 group third place: Armenia (B1), Albania (B2), Bulgaria (B3), Azerbaijan (B4), Montenegro (B5), Lithuania (B6)

Round 2 group fourth place: Georgia (B1), Moldova (B2)